We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
50
37
7
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
37
7
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location accommodation options old town tha phae gate nice room stayed here for nights would definitely stay here again tv thb alley furniture
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay 6-night stay at this hostel. I had a superior air-con room, which was clean, spacious and very pleasantly decorated. The bed was wonderful - large and with a good mattress.

Baan Klang Vieng is located right next door to Ponganes Cafe, where they serve some of the best coffee in Chiang Mai, so one can count on starting their day with a cup of very good coffee. The location is central: on the edge of the old city district yet within walking distance from the Night Bazaar area. There's plenty on restaurants, cafes, massage parlors and 7/11s in the vicinity. The hostel staff can help you organize cooking classes and trips, and are generally very accommodating and helpful people.

There may be many accommodation options in the area but this one certainly stands out for its relaxing atmosphere, cleanliness and comfort. I highly recommend Baan Klang Vieng.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I just need a couple of words to describe the Baan Klang Vieng Hostel: Friendly staff, nice location, quiet, clean rooms ... just go for it! An ideal place to escape the action after a long day visiting the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanusBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The lady running the place was very sweet and made sure I was taken care of. She even helped me schedule and early morning tuk tuk to the bus station the night before. I took a private room with ensuite bath and was very pleased in terms of space and cleanliness. There is an area for coffee and antiques decorate the place nicely. The massage place next door is great, as an added bonus. Temple bells are beautiful on the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingobroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is located close to Thapae Gate, so ideal for catching TukTuks or Song Taos or walking to Restaurants or anywhere else in the old city. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. It's very quiet but in the morning you can hear the wake-up bells of the nearby Wat (at 4:30) but I always fell back to sleep quickly (i have a very light sleep). Sometimes you also hear monks chanting. I found this very nice and peaceful. Also the wind chimes on the roof of the Wat. Very very peaceful and calming.
Attached to the hotel is a small cafe with a few chairs outside with excellent Cappucino (the best I had in Chiang Mai) and Iced Latte. A nice place for breakfast is close by (about 50m, in the same Soi), Angel's Secrets Cafe.
The owners and the personnel of the hotel/hostel are very friendly.
We didn't find any negative points.

Room Tip: Check whether rooms have twin or double beds. We could only a get a twin room, facing the side to the Wat.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this small place after getting off the 16 hr train from Bangkok. It's near everything and its very convienent. It's a little expensive for a single room but its very clean and very quiet. The owner is very nice and always ready to help you with anything although her English isn't very good. Her little girl (7 mths) is so cute!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews