We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Chiang Mai”

Favola at Le Meridien
Ranked #24 of 2,441 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Favola's menu is inspired by Italian cuisine 'a la moda' with a combination of iconic dishes from the country’s northern, central and southern regions, adding innovative light fare created by In-House Chef Filippo Morelli.In addition, Favola has a fine wine selection available from the walk-in wine cellar. The majority are Italian wines complemented by International wines, all for competitive prices.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner there very much. Everything from food (including the scallop, the sea bass, the pasta and the pizza) to service was excellent and perfect. After the yummy yummy dessert, Chef Roberto was very nice to treat us with Limoncello.

Thank JePaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear JePaJa,

Many thanks for the hearty review. The limoncello from the Chef is a special touch we're very proud of: it aids digestion and is the perfect opportunity for a last toast before leaving! We'll give your compliments to our service team as well.

We hope you had a safe journey onwards.
Yours,
N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Chef let gave us a whole lot of advice on the different meals! Best. Restaurant. Ever. All meals were made with heart.

1  Thank Paco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Paco,

Thank you that for this short and sweet review. I'll tell Chef Roberto you were very pleased with his recommendations.

See you soon!
Yours,
N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

First of all, Le Meridian is an exceptional hotel, from the facilities to the amazing service from its employees. Favola is an Italian restaurant that more than holds its own in a nation that has scrumptious (and cheap) Thai food. But if you're in for a change of pace and taste, try this exceptional restaurant. Service is impeccable, food is plentiful and genuine, and the bottom-lone tab will shock you for how little you will pay at a luxury hotel. When you've finished dining, take a short walk to work off the calories to the nearby Night Market where, if you're still hungry (but I doubt you will be after Favola), you can find street food that you'll dream about for weeks.

Thank jimatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Jim,

Thank you so much for your overall compliments on our hotel, we're so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, we pride ourselves to have great Italian food that offers a perfect break to travelers weary of (delicious!) Thai food.
We hope we can welcome you and/or your friends in our establishment again soon.

Kind regards,
Yours,
N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

“Favola” an Italian restaurant of Le Meridien brand @ Le meridien Chiang Mai

Starting from FREE house water, you can choose what to put in either lemon, lime, orange, or mint.

Complementary dish, tuna tartare and tomato mozzarella. The mozzarella was very nice.

Bread, they would bring you a refillable basket of 5 different kinds of bread, but I preferred only Foccacia, so the rest won’t go wasted. They served with 3 sauces; olive oil and vinegar, tomato, and anchovy

Starter: Scallops with Butternut and Rocket Pesto
The scallops were fresh. Mashed butternut was very smooth. The garlic(not certain if it is garlic) in pesto was too strong.

Main: Pan-seared Snow Fish with Viggie Caponatina and Saffron Sauce.
They cooked it just right for me. The outer part is crispy but in the inside is still soft and moist. The piece of fish could be a bit bigger. Maybe, it was good, so I felt that I needed more.

Tortino with Pistachio Icecream
I think in English is Chocolate lava cake(correct me if I’m wrong). Dark chocolate went very well with sweet ice cream. Perfect dessert to end the night.


The atmosphere was alright. It was not crowded at the time, so I got full attention from the staffs. The service was excellent. They have an open kitchen where you can see the chef cooking. The ventilation system was good enough otherwise my hair would smell. The price was a bit pricey but staying you will get discount which make it reasonable.

Love it!

I took the opportunity of being platinum to have free drink at the hotel club lounge. Suite upgrade and breakfast was provided. Never regret staying here.

Thank bankchintasit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Bank,

What a treat to have someone write such a detailed review! Many thanks. We're so glad you decided to come back to our restaurant recently. We'd like to take this opportunity to point out to any future platinum guests that you can enjoy the complimentary cocktails at our restaurant from 6 to 8pm.
We'll also happily give your feedback to our culinary team so they may improve on the few points you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards,
Yours,
N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Needed a break from all the great Thai food in Chang Mai and Favola’s was the perfect choice. Burratta salad is outstanding and all of our pizza choices here were really good. Plus, the service was exceptional. We were too full for dessert, but saw a few tiramisu plates that tempted us! Judge, the manager, really makes a positive impression.

Thank WKU7818224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear WKU7818224,

The burrata salad is indeed one of our signature starters - if you like stracciatella cheese, we'd suggest you to try the seabass ceviche next time you're in: delicious raw fish with shredded burrata and a lime dressing. I'll certainly tell Judge how his service positively influenced your time with us.

Warm regards,
N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Favola at Le Meridien also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Favola at Le Meridien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing