We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such good food”

Blue Diamond Breakfast Club
Ranked #177 of 2,656 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My favorite restaurant in the old city. I have been eating here for 18 years and the food keeps getting better. Nice garden setting, great coffee, omeletts and home fried potatos. So many things to enjoy. No tv or loud music. You will be glad you found this place.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Ive been coming to this peaceful oasis almost every day, and appreciate the garden and healthy food very much. The gluten free pancakes and vegan ice cream are a must. The only down side for me is that the staff look unhappy. They seem to be there day and night, so exhausted probably. It's quite mainstream tourist joint, so im sure how friendly and respectful all the customers are. I miss the happy equality of staff in other cafes, where they can connect, smile and say hi. Personal connection is key if you're a regular.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The best thing is the garden atmosphere, the fish pont as well as the possibilities to sit.
But eventhough the garden is so nice and I kept coming here because of that, I have to say that I find several things not as good as it seems. I tried several different salads, and none of them was really delicious. I don't know what they do with their dressings, but it only tastes like a lot of sour lemon juice with oil, but don't expect a delicious salad souce. Furthermore, I always need to drop by the kitchen and ask for the menu, have to stand up again to order as the stuff is absolutely not trained in service, neither nice nor helpful. It seems they don't want to work at all, don't expect a smile or a nice "sawadee" when you arrive. Moreover, they put a lot of green leaves on the plates below the actual salad to make it look big - but honestly, the portions are quite small and too overpriced for what you get. I think the cook could give more love to the plates in general. If you wanna have a great tea leaf salad or other great stuff made with love and a great value for money, I would rather recommend the Cat House.
They have a nice bakery and good cakes, and it could all be so nice, but sorry to leave a rating which is not so good here, you should really work one some issues here.
I would only recommend coming here cause of the garden and the bakery, but not if you expect good value for money, good taste as well as a friendly stuff.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank chiarakoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We've spent our last morning here and was a bit difficult to find it. The songthaew driver didn't know the location so it's better if you use your phone to navigate him or print a map and give it to them.

A breakfast and the interior was excellent, a bit pricy though but their full english breakfast and the juices were like a dream. The place can be pretty crowded, we had a problem to find a table for six.
There are numerous options for hipsters: vegan, glutenfree, freerange, fairtrade foods, etc.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Draquar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

It is a bit hard sometimes to find decent vegan food while travelling. Chiang Mai however is very vegan friendly with many many good restaurants. We ate at several including Blue Diamond and it was one of our favourites. The food was fresh, good flavours, authentic Thai dishes and comparable prices in terms of other places like it. They have really great vegan deserts as well which was a nice treat. The only thing that was lacking a bit was the service. At times it was slow and not overly friendly. But the food makes up for that. The 4 rating was because of the service.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Corbett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Diamond Breakfast Club also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Blue Diamond Breakfast Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing