We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Billy D
Hua Hin, Thailand

The renewed Chiang Mai Marriott is great!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
We have stayed in this hotel for years and now it is even better. The refurbished rooms and swimming pool are great.The manager, Mr. Rajat Chatterjee, takes pride in the new lounge with outstanding food and drink with views of Doi Suthep.The lounge staff Fawn, Mhew, K.T., Arkang, Pinn and Imm make sure that you receive excellent service. Miss Cartoon at the front desk makes your stay special with her cheerful personality and goodies in your suite. The location is next to the night bazaar and central to other attractions.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Lounge can get busy.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Apr 2024
Dear BillyD1961,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay.
I am pleased that our service contributed toward a memorable trip.

Thank you for recognizing K.Fawn, Mhew, K.T., Arkang, Pinn Imm and Cartoon who made your experience positive.
I have shared you feedback to the team and all concerned associates who made your experience positive.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$218
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$65
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$81
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$214
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$62
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$84
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (4,668)
Filter reviews
4,668 results
Traveller rating
3,061
1,172
309
86
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,061
1,172
309
86
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le meridien night market latest recipe favola restaurant the club lounge executive suite concierge desk mountain view doi suthep breakfast buffet old city wonderful hotel thai food tuk tuk lm marriott platinum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 4,668 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

This is a hotel we will return to. Marriott does deliver its brand promise of putting “People First”. Can’t find one single flaw in every aspect of the service delivery.

For tourists, the hotel location is perfect. 3’ walk to Chiang Mai night market, 20’ walk to The Tha Pae Gate and the old city, 5’ to Warorot Market (the most complete clean traditional market) by Tuk Tuk. All staffs are helpful and knowledgeable.

One thing that we find unique and heart warming is a chalk hand writing “welcome to Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel” and cute elephants hand drawing on a mirror near the room door (see photos). It “humanizing relationship” amid digital world. Human -refer to Aristotle word- is a “zoon politicon”, human needs interaction with each other.

If there’s one little tiny improvement suggestion (which might not be aware by most visitors) is the payment system. Unlike other hotel whose payment (through credit card) to be settle during check out or -at worst- the card will be verified and certain limit will be blocked, Marriott requires full payment plus some buffer to be done up front during check in. For example, the total cost for room is 100, I had to pay in full amounted 115 (through credit card). If there’s over payment when check out, it will be refunded through credit card.

At a glance, it looks fair and nothing to lose. But actually, if there’s different currency between the transaction currency and credit card currency, the customer will borne a FX loss. When the credit card is charged, the bank will convert it into card’s currency using bank sell rate. When the fund is returned, the bank will convert it with bank buy rate. There’s always a different between sell and buy rate. It is very technical, that’s why most of customers will not aware of it.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jopietrigeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear jopietrigeany,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your feedback. Please know that your appreciated comments have been taken up by the concerned departments for a detailed review and an improvement where needed.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Excellent stay— the staff and service were excellent. Food was great— chef did wonderful job of showcasing northern Thai cuisine —truly enjoyed the Bonvoy Elite evening meal and cocktail service. One of the best experiences in Southeast Asia.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O2934VUrhondah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear O2934VUrhondah,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay. I am pleased that our cuisine, service and Club Lounge contributed toward a memorable trip.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

Incredible property with knowledgeable caring staff made our 6 day visit to Chiang Mai memorable. Great location walking
distance to myriad of restaurants, old city is nearby, with 1st class Favola restaurant on sight. Beautiful spacious lobby greets you upon arrival and sleeping rooms are remolded and tastefully appointed. Pool and health club are top notch as are restaurants and meeting rooms. One of the finer city based Marriott properties in their portfolio

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brucet254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear brucet254,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay.
I am pleased that our cuisine, service and location contributed toward a memorable trip.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Did a spa treatment at Quan Spa at the Marriot Chiang Mai. Yui, the therapist was excellent. She was attentiveness and she helped relieved the knotted aches for me. Thank you for the great spa session Yui.

Great facility and wonderful ambience.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noname6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear Noname6789,

Thank you for visiting our Quan Spa and writing your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your treatment by K.Yui. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

Chaing Mai is a beautiful city with lots of characters! The people are very nice and hospitable! The hotel staff are wonderful people and they make you feel very special. Breakfast and restaurants are excellent! The staff at the Quan Spa ( Ao and Jiab) are both excellent and tends to your needs! We also had the pleasure dealing with PLA in the restaurant. She is very tentative to our needs and very friendly! Excellent and must do again!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O4238MXmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Owner at Chiang Mai Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024


Dear O4238MXmikem,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay. I am pleased that our Cuisine, service and facilities contributed toward a memorable trip.

Thank you for recognizing K. Ao, Jiab and K. Pla at the Quan Spa and restaurant who made your experience positive.

I have shared you feedback to K. Ao, Jiab and K. Pla and all concerned associates who made your experience positive.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Sincere regards,
Rajat Chatterjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews