We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO MUCH FUN -- esp for a group” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Rice Thai Cookery School

Siam Rice Thai Cookery School
Ranked #5 of 66 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FUN -- esp for a group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was my favorite thing we did in Chiang Mai. Three friends, my husband and I traveled to Chiang Mai during an Asia trip we took this winter ... one of our friends wanted to take a cooking class, and everyone else was luke-warm on it. Needless to say, it was everyone's favorite stop in Chiang Mai. Run by a husband-and-wife team, our half day cooking class started at 9am in the morning, when Pot, our wacky instructor, picked us up from our hotel and brought us to the market to learn about Thai ingredients. We wandered around the market for a little while, bought beer (if you want to drink, you have to bring your own), and went over to Pot's house, where the class is taught. We each got to pick a soup, a noodle dish, and a curry to make. Then Pot teaches you how to make everything from scratch. The whole experience was hilarious and really fun -- Pot definitely had us laughing the whole time. We took the half day class, and I'm really glad we did -- there was SO MUCH FOOD. We couldn't finish all of it, and we could barely eat dinner that night (Pot is totally cool about packing up your food to go). After the meal we got to meet Pot's son, who he calls Peter Pan, and his menagerie of pets ... including a 2 week old kitten, 3 day old puppies, and a bird. It was an awesome stop ... and I never knew I was such a good cook! Actually can't wait to make the dishes I learned at my NYC apartment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    146
    35
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were picked up from our hotel and shown round the local market where many of the ingredients we were going to use were explained by our very knowledgeable instructor.

There were 8 of us in our group and we were each allowed to choose from 3 or 4 dishes for each of the 7 courses we were going to cook. Our instructor explained everything step by step in such an entertaining way that it put everyone at ease. He was also able to keep an eye on everyone simultaneously and I dont think anyone's dishes went wrong.

There is so much to eat don't bother with having breakfast and you take away whatever you cant eat, so no need for an evening meal either.

All in all a fun and educantional day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank peter45133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pot and Nancy are fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

We did the full day course cooking 6 dishes in total and booked directly via emailing Nancy.
There was great choice of what you wanted to cook for each course and the whole thing was extremely well organised and great fun.
Pot picked us up from our hotel and took us to the market which was interesting and imformative. At the school, there was 8 in our group with Pot and another 2 groups going that day but the school is large enough to accommodate this no problem.
Pot knew his stuff (he used to be chef(as well as a Thai boxer and motorbike racer)) and made the day fun! The quality of the ingredients was high which made us seem like top chefs as the food we made was excellent!
Whatever you don't eat you can take away and you also receive a certificate and recipe booklet so you can try cooking them at home.
Recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Scott1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“absolutely unique experience and very good fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

it was one of the best days i had of the 25 i have spent in thailand!!! and I dont even like cooking that much... the way they teach everything, the ingredients are really fresh, the visit to the market, the cooking outside, it was perfect!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank papasluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

very interesting with the staff helpful and funny meals tasted great when we hd cooked them do not eat before going there

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank missingscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam Rice Thai Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Siam Rice Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing