We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
907
806
168
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
806
168
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khao san road second building taxi driver main building democracy monument grand palace the river swimming pool minute walk walking distance air con nice pool rooms are clean quiet location buffet style wat pho boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

A nice pool in the garden area, a very good breakfast, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom is small but adequate. Our room was at the front on the first floor (one up from ground) and unfortunately looked straight into a next door house window. There were no net curtains in the room, so we needed to keep the curtains closed pretty much all the time for privacy. (Get a room number in the 300s and higher and that should be better) The very light curtains couldn't deal well with the morning sun from 6am and I needed my eyemask. Wifi had an annoying habit of dropping out but was ok. Staff were friendly, very helpful and very pleasant. They allowed a later than usual (3pm) checkout for no charge and a staff member accompanied us to the road with umbrellas as it was raining. I'd certainly cone back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank klmcc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was our second stay at Lamphu Treehouse in 3 years. Staff are friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the second building. Our room was lovely - clean and comfortable - good value for money, in our opinion. Good range of options for breakfast - western and Asian - and good coffee. The location on the canal is interesting, with friendly locals going about their daily lives. The hotel is 10 minutes walk to Khao San Road and 12-15 minutes to N13 boat pier. We took the orange flag boat to N11 pier and walked 10-15 minutes to Thonburi Noi train station for the train to Kanchanaburi. We found it was quite manageable with backpacks (and we're not spring chickens!). Would definitelt stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We really don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating on TripAdvisor, it's very misleading and ended up ruining our experience.
My girlfriend and I planned on staying here for our last 3 nights in Thailand, for exploring Bangkok and eventually reaching the airport.
The stay was so unpleasant that we requested to cancel our last night, so we can spend our last day and night somewhere nicer. Even after explaining this to the hotel, the unhelpful lobby staff refused to refund our last night, blaming the fact that we booked through Agoda. Of course once we spoke directly with Agoda, they explained that the hotel does not WANT to refund us, and that they could if they wanted to.
Thank god for Agodas normal costumer service, we explained how bad we feel there, and they refunded us themselves on their expense, so we will be able to leave and book a different hotel.

Now for the review itself, I'll start with the few Pros:
-The location is close to bangkoks main tourist attractions - famous temples, Khao San road, the grand palace (its closed now).
-the price is comparatively OK.
-the hotels style is nice, having wooden thai themed rooms.
The CONS far outweigh these unfortunately:
-The area around the hotel feels very unsafe, it's an urban dark neighborhood, on the banks of a dirty looking canal, and you pretty much have to walk through people's front porch in order of reaching anywhere. Although quite compared to Khaosan, there was still a lot of noise in the morning and some at night (a loudly crying baby from an adjoining Thai home, some heavy machinery on the street). We had trouble sleeping.
-In order of enjoying the better looking, newer rooms the hotel offers, you have to stay at their second building, about a 3-5 minute walk from the main one. You have to walk this through the unpleasant area, in order of reaching the small pool and the breakfast buffet. Because of this secluded building , we did not even feel like we were at a hotel. There isn't even a security guard at the entrance of this build, you are completely alone in a bad area.
-While I did say the rooms are nicely detailed, their potential is wasted on poor cleaning quality. The sheets are full of stains, as is the shower walls and floor, and the general feeling is of a cheap unclean motel.

In conclusion, we recommend you find a different hotel. There are better looking options either in the same area for the same price or a little more, or just go to the much friendlier feeling, modern Sukhumvit area, where you can get a luxury 4 star hotel for a little bit more.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Offek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Our flight arrived pretty early in the morning, and after hours of flying, we just wanted to go directly to the hotel. We arrived hours before check-in time, but they invited us to store our luggage, enjoy the breakfast buffet, and to hang out by the pool. Within a few minutes, they were able to turn around a room for us.

This hotel met all of our most important needs in Bangkok. The air conditioner is strong, the bathroom/shower had working hot water, the breakfast buffet had a lot of choices, and the room was cleaned daily. It is conveniently located very close to Khao San Road. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, and spas nearby, but far enough to avoid the noise and crowds. It's within a reasonable walking distance (20 min) to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho and other attractions in Banglamphu.

The reception is 24 hours, which was important because we had a pretty early departure flight. The staff members have varying levels of English, but they were all kind, helpful, and friendly. If they didn't know how to help us, they would find somebody that would.

Overall, we were very satisfied with this hotel and would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a good value for a comfortable, but not luxury experience. Just one pointer, if you are taking a cab or a tuk-tuk, you will need a copy of the map to the location. The hotel is hidden along the canal and not immediately visible from the street. Be careful that you don't confuse it with a similarly named Lamphu Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This little hotel is set by the water about a 20-30 minute walk into the more central area of Bangkok. We stayed in the main building. The hotel itself is a little tired but this doesn't distract from its charm and everything worked just fine.
Again, our room was a little tired but perfectly fine. Nothing to shout about.
This was the first hotel we stayed at in Thailand and we booked it on recommendation by a friend.
The staff here were disengaged and barely smiled the 2 nights that we were staying. Again, nothing for us to complain about but just not sparking like we have found in other hotels since.
The bed sheets had an orange mark on them clearly visible on arrival to the room but otherwise all seemed clean.
The pool is lovely and I had it all to myself one evening.
What I'm getting at is that this is a perfectly fine hotel. I would just look for somewhere else to stay if I came back again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews