We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,945)
Filter reviews
1,945 results
Traveller rating
904
802
167
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
802
167
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhao san roadsecond buildingtaxi drivermain buildingdemocracy monumentgrand palacethe riverswimming poolminute walkwalking distanceair connice poolquiet arearooms are cleanbuffet stylewat phoboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 1,945 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We booked this hotel based on Lonely Planet's recommendation and viewing the hotel's website, and were very, very pleased with our choice. We arrived in Bangkok around 1:30 a.m., and got to the hotel around 2 or 3. This was not a problem, as the hotel security greeted us and promptly checked us in and showed us our room. We couldn't see much of the reception area at the hotel because most of the lights were off, and the location of the hotel didn't seem to be in the nicest part of town, but the next morning when the sun came up we were delighted when we walked downstairs from our room and saw the very well naturally lit reception area serving THE BEST hotel breakfast buffet we had on our entire month long trip to Thailand. The area was also beautifully decorated, and just adjacent to the swimming pool, which gave the place a wonderful ambiance. We were promptly greeted, sat at lovely table, and served fresh and hot coffee. Must have just hung out in that area for at least 3 hours our first morning. There is a typical Bangkok canal that runs in front the hotel, which adds to the character of the place. We loved it. The location also proved to be wonderful, being only a 10 minute walk to Khao San Rd., a must see and do in Bangkok.

The hotel has free wifi service, and charges a very modest amount to use one of the six house computers, which are located in the area described above.

The outdoor pool is a wonderful feature, especially good after walking around sunny hot bangkok sightseeing all day long. Very clean, and a perfect temperature. The staff even let us use it after the posted closing hours!

Did not eat at the restaurant aside from the breakfast buffet, but if the lunch and dinner menu is as good at the FREE breakfast, then I'm sure the food is outstanding.

The room was great, with a balcony that overlooked the pool, wonderful a/c, and a mini-fridge in the room.

The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Greeted us every morning with smiles and sa wat dii khaps!

We tried to book a room at the end of our trip but they were fully booked, and we had to settle for a very below average hotel. Don't make the same mistake, because you will inevitably be let down having to stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezduzit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed in the Lamphu Tree House for one night and have no complaints. The room was simple but very clean and comfy with great river views from the balcony. Check in was swift and had no problem finding it. The location is really good, within walking distance to Khao San Road but far enough away to not be bothered by the noise and all the people. The value is fantastic, staff lovely and the breakfast was also great.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLolo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Great somewhat hidden hotel in Bangkok. It was simply lovely. Upon our late night arrival Sat night, almost 1am Sun really, we were immediately welcomed with friendly smiles and service from the hotel staff. As soon as we entered the staff immediately began helping us with our bags and brought us some juice, they must have seen the exhaustion in our faces and sweat dripping of our heads, we had a long journey here, 17 hour plan ride! The room was simple but perfect. The staff could not have been more helpful. They always took the time to help us get our barrings on our map and gave us great directions to any sites we wanted to take in. The lobby/restaurant area was lovely as well as the pool. Also this hotel has a beautiful roof top garden/bar/sun deck, it truely is a hidden gem! We met the owner our last day and thanked him for a great stay. Such a humble and wonderfuly friendly man. I had researched many hotels before our trip to Bangkok and this hotel offers a great rate and wonderful service. I would highly recommend!! The only suggestion I woud have is to make sure you print the directions and map in Thai to give to taxi driver, this hotel really is somewhat "hidden". Even with these directions our taxi driver was bit confused, there is another hotel called Lamphu House..not Tree House so be sure to let taxi driver know the difference. The best way to describe we found, is showing the map and directions in thai to the taxi, also telling them that it is located under the Wan Chat Bride, just over the bridge on the corner of Prachatipatal Rd and the Lamphu Canal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The staff here were super accommodating and helpful and our room was nice, quiet and clean. Perfect for our stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb53704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We really liked this hotel, so much that we booked it for when we return to bangkok in one month, as we are traveling around thailand now. The location is perfect, its about a 5minute walk away from Koh San Road, which is mad! The only thing is the people who work there dont speak great english and cant advise you on how to get tourist places, but we got around it wasnt really a problem. rooms are clean and safe, nice pool here and breakfast was lovely every morning!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews