We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not cheap”

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse - Thonglor
Ranked #1,335 of 12,880 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: USD 30 - USD 100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: Retro and modern in a mix of intricate detail and sophisticated simplicity. - Food is our passion and it is our aim to establish the benchmark in Southeast Asia for a contemporary, specialised steakhouse concept. We opened our first restaurant in 2011 and went our way from Saigon to Hanoi, Bangkok to Koh Samui, eight restaurants, and it is still the same joy. We are proud to serve you the finest steakhouse-style food, using only the best available meat products sourced from selected farms in Victoria, New South Wales and individual farmers and ranchers in the United States. This is all about the original flavour of the naturally raised meat, paired with the offer of our own steakhouse classics, as well as a modern approach on ingredients, preparation and combinations. Let your sense of taste be awoken with an aperitif, let the juicy meat melt in your mouth, dive into the latest wine treasures and find in a selection of cigars a peaceful retreat from the bustling world around.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I really enjoyed the steak and they made an excellent Caipirinha. The place is extremely well done out and it was nice to sit outside for the drink and see the world go by. The bill was huge though for a Bangkok bill, one steak alone cost me 100 US and the final bill (for one) was nearly 200 US. Great food and ambiance - take your credit card.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Staff at this specific restaurant deliver average service, but this is obviously lead by a culture of 2nd class service created by the duty managers. Request for simple change of style of potato resulted in a no not possible response. Staff don’t smile, and just do their job. Environment looks great, food could be good but flavor of discontentment permeates through this location. Have been a frequent advocate and guest of el gauchos through out vietnam which deliver a high end of service deliver and food lovers experience. Won’t be back to this location until management make some changes with how they manage.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Visited today as a regular to the el gaucho chain in Hanoi saigon and danang. The Bangkok restaurant when asked if I could have baked potato instead of mashed refused and said it’s not possible. Really spoilt the delicious meal I was looking forward too and the entire dining experience. Flexibility is the key with delivering a world class guest dining experience. Won’t be making Bangkok el gaucho a regular dining experience due to their approach to the guest.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Meander675684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

The location is pretty nice, the service is also professional and likeable BUT the quality of the food is in relation to its price very low, the chicken is full of fat and the burgers are also poor. The prices in the menu are written in net, so don’t get scared if you see the bill and the sum is much higher than expected. Never again!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank y1232018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

It as a great lunch, best beef and grilled perfectly, the side dishes are to die for!!! Wine list well chosen, highly recommend this place for a Steak Feast

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Kopferlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse - Thonglor also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse - Thonglor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing