We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #281 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is a small boutique hotel close to Wat Pho and the Grand Palace. The staff is extremely helpful. Our room was clean and efficient, but the location was really great. The breakfast that is included was wonderful. This resort has airport transportation for a small fee.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClintonWhidbeyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Aurum The River Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We stay at this boutique hotel each time we pass through Bangkok. It is at the quiet end of a short street, right on the river front. The warm welcome and delightful location has made each visit a joy to anticipate. The rooms are well-appointed and the front desk is always helpful with maps, restaurant suggestions, arrangements for tours or concerts, and ordering reliable taxi service.

The breakfasts (western or Thai) are generous and tasty. Actually, we can only speak for the Thai breakfasts, which have been wonderful every time! The breakfast location is right on the river front (at the coffee shop), with little tables on the deck outside.

The river view is highly entertaining, both from the river-view rooms and from the coffee shop/breakfast area. Boats of all sizes, shapes and colours pass by while you are having coffee. It feels like you are in the beating heart of historical Bangkok.

Wat Arun is in view on the opposite side of the river, and the impressive Wat Pho is at the other end of the street. The famous flower market is in walking distance in one direction, and the Grand Palace and National Museum are in walking distance in the other direction. In between, there are a lot of little cafes and souvenir shops.

Jin and Ploy have also been very helpful with booking an historical tour (bus/boat) to the old capital of Bangkok (Ayutthaya) and a cultural concert (with traditional dancers in Thai costume) at the Grand Theatre. They even arranged a reliable taxi for a return trip to Kanchanaburi (to see the Bridge over the River Kwai) at a very reasonable price, dropping us off on one day and returning to collect us 4 days later. We could not want for a more enjoyable place to stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are great! Top floor is best for the views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Circelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and the location has to be the best in Bangkok. Quiet friendly neighbours and walking distance to Grand Palace etc. Also right on the river so easy access to ferries. The hotel is charming with everything you need and wonderful staff. Highly recommend Aurum.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Having lived in Bangkok before I wanted to share the city with a friend, but away from the chaos of staying in Sukhumvit and Silom. We were looking for a small, boutique hotel near old Bangkok, and this was a nice place to spend a few nights.
Our room was comfortable, small, clean and the bathroom was a good size and modern.
The WiFi service had just been changed before our stay and only worked in the lobby which wasn't ideal for us, but we managed just fine. The lobby is comfortable and has ample seating.
Breakfast is served along a terrace on the river at a cafe just in front of the hotel. You have several cooked options to chose from the night before and also have access to fruit, yogurt and toast along with the cooked meal.
The hotel has a private river pier and can arrange a canal/khlong tour for you at a reasonable price. There are many restaurants in the surrounding area although not nearly as many as the more crowded hotel areas of the city.
The hotel is within very easy walking distance to the Grand Palace and Wat Po, the pier for canal taxis and Sathorn Pier to access BTS.
Depending on your needs and desires for a stay in a large metropolis this could be a good hotel for you.

Room Tip: I hear the river view rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I stopped at the Aurum The River Place for 2 weeks after a medical emergency meant that we could not continue South.
Our room was on the 4th floor with a view of the river, The room was cleaned every day, our bed was made for us. Clean towels were provided daily.
The breakfast was provided in their café overlooking the river. There was a selection of breakfasts available including Thai breakfast. There was a mixture available to suit most.
There was internet available in the lobby. Some guests found the annoying, however it suited us.
The staff were very supportive and full of information. They booked taxis for you and gave advice if needed.
There is a laundry service, although it was a little slow the clothes came back beautifully clean.
The Hotel is a short walk to the flower market and the river boats. Just across the road there are temples and massage schools. I would happily stay again, and hope to do so next year.
easy walking or available transport.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#206 of 880 in Bangkok
301 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#167 of 880 in Bangkok
326 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#41 of 699 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#53 of 1,283 in Bangkok
125 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#61 of 1,283 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Sala Arun
#58 of 699 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $108 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing