We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel near Grand Palace and Wat Po”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #276 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Having lived in Bangkok before I wanted to share the city with a friend, but away from the chaos of staying in Sukhumvit and Silom. We were looking for a small, boutique hotel near old Bangkok, and this was a nice place to spend a few nights.
Our room was comfortable, small, clean and the bathroom was a good size and modern.
The WiFi service had just been changed before our stay and only worked in the lobby which wasn't ideal for us, but we managed just fine. The lobby is comfortable and has ample seating.
Breakfast is served along a terrace on the river at a cafe just in front of the hotel. You have several cooked options to chose from the night before and also have access to fruit, yogurt and toast along with the cooked meal.
The hotel has a private river pier and can arrange a canal/khlong tour for you at a reasonable price. There are many restaurants in the surrounding area although not nearly as many as the more crowded hotel areas of the city.
The hotel is within very easy walking distance to the Grand Palace and Wat Po, the pier for canal taxis and Sathorn Pier to access BTS.
Depending on your needs and desires for a stay in a large metropolis this could be a good hotel for you.

Room Tip: I hear the river view rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Aurum The River Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017

I stopped at the Aurum The River Place for 2 weeks after a medical emergency meant that we could not continue South.
Our room was on the 4th floor with a view of the river, The room was cleaned every day, our bed was made for us. Clean towels were provided daily.
The breakfast was provided in their café overlooking the river. There was a selection of breakfasts available including Thai breakfast. There was a mixture available to suit most.
There was internet available in the lobby. Some guests found the annoying, however it suited us.
The staff were very supportive and full of information. They booked taxis for you and gave advice if needed.
There is a laundry service, although it was a little slow the clothes came back beautifully clean.
The Hotel is a short walk to the flower market and the river boats. Just across the road there are temples and massage schools. I would happily stay again, and hope to do so next year.
easy walking or available transport.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

While I loved the location and the rooms were clean, the wi-fi in the room (which is essential for planning) did not work and my friend and I had a few miscommunications with the staff. Urban Rustic Thai, the restaurant around the corner was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Stayed for 1 night, located very close to main temples in Bangkok. Small hotel, room small, not worth paying extra for partial river view room, looks onto apartments across street, down street can see river at end. No restaurant, does serve breakfast across street at coffee shop, breakfast was ok, very few restaurants in area. Paying really for close proximity to Grand Palace etc, stayed many hotels in Bangkok, and for cost can stay in larger hotel with more amenities, / room size.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Manager at Aurum The River Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear Guest Jimmyc217,

Thank you for your review and stayed with us for one night.

Since our hotel is located in Rattanakosin Island, the old Bangkok area which there are many restrictions about the height and construction. This area is one of the oldest part of Bangkok which the former community, called "Tha Tien", has already been existed for at least 200 years. Hence, there are neighborhood low rise buildings and shop houses close by.

For the Side (Partial) River View room type which you have stayed, every room has a small balcony which guest could open the door to balcony and enjoy the River View from there. However, we could not refuse the truth that even there is a View of the River, neighborhood buildings and shop houses are still in the eyesight.

Regarding restaurant, we do serve breakfast outdoor at the riverside Coffee shop, Vivi the Coffe Place, in front of the hotel.

We apologize that we do not have a proper restaurant to serve Dinner. However, there are many restaurants around us open during day and night which we normally recommend guests to enjoy their meals. The few nearest restaurants are located just 50 - 100 Meters away and more choices are about 200 - 500 Meters away from us within walking distance. They are either on the street or Riverside restaurants.

Unfortunately, since you stayed with us only one night so maybe we did not have enough conversation. We should have provided you more information about the restaurants nearby.

We thank you for your comments and will use our best effort to improve the service as much as we can.

Best regards,
Aurum Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Good hotel, clean, comfortable,good bathroom,good bed,weak wi-fi in the room. Everything was very, very good but the location: the best location in the day,majors attractions are near by, but at night you barely can find a place to eat!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Telma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#215 of 879 in Bangkok
298 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#164 of 879 in Bangkok
325 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#41 of 695 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#47 of 1,283 in Bangkok
123 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#62 of 1,283 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Sala Arun
#55 of 695 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $109 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing