We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service at Executive lounge is losing quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hilton Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service at Executive lounge is losing quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We are currently at the Hilton Bangkok as a diamond member and invited a friend to the Exec. Lounge. I had to pay her glass of wine (didn't take finger food). Families with kids didn't have to pay anything even the kids eat like farmers. It seems to me that the Exec lounge in Bangkok is turning into a all you can eat family resort......instead of treating long time guest well

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,615
    1,339
    380
    160
    61
See reviews for
762
2,136
347
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights follwing a weeks stay at the Layana Resort Koi Lanta Thailand.
The hotel itself was fabulous but the staff need to learn customer service. We checked in and was offered an upgrade to an executive suite and club lounge which included additional food afternoon tea ulimited drinks at certain times, being drinkers we thought it a good deal and paid the additional monies. The upgraded room was out of this world something JR Ewing would have stayed in it had an office with its own toilet seperate lounge, bedroom bathroom en suite etc etc. However the executive lounge where the drinks we free was terrible limited premium spirits and no proper mixers, we was told there was no branded mixers due to the floods but the bars where ytou paid had the premium nixers. When we complained they was not interested so we cancelled the uograde and moved back to a normal room.
The free taxi service over to the other side of the river is a god send, we really struggled getting taxi`s to take us to the hotel because of the time it took to get over the bridge to the hotel.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bongo3028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pluak Daeng, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during my last stay in Bangkok. The staff at check-in was nice and friendly. As I have been a bit early, that could not accommodate me. The first disappointment I had, when my room was not ready after 2 pm.
I decided to take the complimentary shuttle boat to Saphan Taksin to take the BTS into the city. After my return, the staff was not able to find my key and luggage receipt. Therefore I had to identify the luggage by myself. Not a good start for a hotel like Hilton.
The room was nice with a big enough to accommodate 2 people. I found out on more than one occasion that the key cards are very sensitive to all electromagnetic fields and had to made the trip down to reception more than once.
The breakfast buffet was great. The food fresh and very good. The staff was not always spot on. Especially early in the morning.
The pool area is small but nicely done with pool chairs in the water and a beach area with sand.
Only real downside of this hotel is that the main purpose is for business. During my stay there was not one day with at least 4 different conferences or meetings. Therefore I would not suggest to stay in the hotel if you would like to purely relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Never having been to Thailand before, we hoped that choosing a flight+accommodation deal at the 'Millennium' Hilton (which was actually opened some time after 2001 !) would be a safe bet.

In fact the services at this member of the chain were better than the ones stayed at in UK or Sweden.

The cavernous main entrance leading to Reception is well set back from the adjoining road, so that you are sheltered from the rain (which seemed to happen every couple of days but did not last long) when your taxi brings you from the airport.

The welcome cool of the hotel air conditioning hits you when the door closes behind you, conversely when you leave again, the heat and humidity let you know where you are !

When you first walk in you are aware of the large dining and breakfast area beyond Reception and the lifts. There are 6 lifts and they run quickly and frequently so waits are short.

The bedroom on the Executive floor was compact but not small, with a modern fully tiled bathroom with walk-in shower, a bath and a loo - note, not much privacy from the room in there ! The bedroom window was wall-to-wall and from waist level to ceiling giving marvellous river and city views.

King-size bed very comfortable, writing desk with power sockets, room safe, 'sachet' and tea-bag hot drinks available (I think there was a 'pod' coffee machine too), large TV (rather restricted TV channels), good air conditioning. A couple of extra chairs in the room for family visitors.

Room internet is a paid-for extra, however as a guest on the Executive floor you have access to the Executive lounge on the top floor - this is a big plus.
On this level you have use of Wifi but also throughout the day, drinks and snacks with a good snack buffet and light alcoholic drinks in the late afternoon. There is also an outside terrace with excellent views of the river and the city. The staff on this floor greet you on arrival and make sure you are served with tea, coffee, fruit drinks etc.

The Wifi permits a voice Skype connection but it's best to be polite and keep your voice down in the lounge.

The actual highest floor is a tower cocktail/entertainments lounge with 360 degree views over Bangkok, it opens in the early evening for generously portioned (and moderately priced) cocktails - two 'Zombies' should be enough for a good night's sleep !
When we stayed there was an excellent lady jazz vocalist with accompanying musical trio - if you like her music, show your appreciation at the end of the number!

(I had the impression that there was a scenic lift to this very top floor lounge on the outside of the building but I did not see this available on our visit.)

The in-hotel dining facilities were comprehensive, we had the in-room meal on a couple of occasions which were good quality and not too pricy.
We ate in the main downstairs area at other times for breakfast and once for a late lunch.
The inclusive breakfast left nothing to chance, with separate European and Asian chef-staffed preparation areas as well as the staples of continental breakfast, but also waffles and pancakes made to order. You could pretty much last all day on a good breakfast!

There are also two other separate restaurants which we did not try.

The hotel has a modest gym which we used to wind down on a couple of occasions, there are a few cross-trainers, treadmills (both having attached TV), rowing machines, and some weights and other "training equipment". It has a sauna next to the showers which you should turn on half an hour before you need it. On the same floor there is an outdoor 'beach pool' where sunworshippers can tan themselves and have a swim or relax in the shade.

The hotel has an attached 'spa' facility but we did not look into it beyond the prices

The hotel is well placed for river travel with a dedicated motor boat transfer to the nearby BTS SkyTrain station (trains not unlike the London Docklands service, but air conditioned) at Saphan Tak SIn, and passenger boats to take you up and down the river; another transfer boat takes you to River City which is just across from the hotel.

For road travel within the city ALWAYS take the distinctive air-conditioned 'official' taxis, the hotel will order one for you or you can wave one down on the street - the driver's credentials are always on display at the front of the vehicle.

We also visited the Grand Palace temples site (the clothing and jewellery collection is an interesting aside), the Jim Thompson (mid 20th century silk entrepreneur) House museum, the Chinatown area (a short walk from the River City mall, one free boat-hop across the river), the MBK and Paragon shopping malls (luxury cinema seats!).
We spotted the Robot Building from the BTS train window out of Saphan Tak Sin.
We ate out a couple of times in the big shopping mall food basements.
We were glad to have a friend with local knowledge when visiting the
Siam street markets.

A good choice for those wanting to see Bangkok city from a central hub and see the busy river traffic from their bedroom window.

Room Tip: All rooms will have decent views but the higher, the better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We like the staf ttitude, the large room, the service and the people of Thiland.....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#91 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,160 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hilton Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hilton Bangkok

Property: Millennium Hilton Bangkok
Address: 123 Charoennakorn Road _. ________ | Khlongtonsai, Khlongsan แขวง คลองต้นไทร เขต คลองสาน กรุงเทพฯ, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#64 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $123 - $319
Hotel Class:5 star — Millennium Hilton Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning new ultra-contemporary hotel with absolute river views from every window. Boasting outdoor infinity pool, stand alone full service Spa and a dedicated Hilton Meetings floor. Eight restaurants and bars offer exquisite local and western cuisine and cocktails to suit every palate in indoor and outdoor settings. Complimentary shuttle boat to the heart of city runs until midnight and rennowned attractions such as Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and the Temple of Dawn are just a short boat ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Cancelon, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Millennium Hilton Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hilton Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hilton International Bangkok
Hilton Bangkok
Bangkok Hilton
Millenium Hilton Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing