We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”
Review of Grand Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Inn Hotel
Ranked #583 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in November and was neither impressed nor disappointed with it. it was just mediocre.

It looked much like it does in the photos, but the rooms were getting old and in need of new furniture and painting. But the room was a good size and had everything I required.

The staff were weird. The lady in the daytime would be sitting at the desk and would not say "hello" or "wait a moment" for several minutes whilst she finished whatever it was she was doing on the computer... possibly on Facebook. This happened quite a few times.

The restaurant was also just OK. nothing special and no atmosphere whatsoever.

The location was good though to get around Bangkok and see the city.

I probably won't return, but I do recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere cheap in a good location for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    120
    72
    19
    17
See reviews for
6
32
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Staffs are friendly though the front desk is not so much but still ok. A stress-free place to stay. I recommend this for the travelers that are not expecting too much from a budget hotel. Very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We attempted to check in and had to wait at least 10 minutes because nobody was at the service desk.Trust me it was a desk!! That should have been my sign to turn around! It was around midnight and the lobby attendant calmly told us that the lady at the front desk stepped out she would be back. She finally came in loud as ever, acting as if we had interrupted her. We had reserved two suites and clearly told her the other two would be in the following day. There was some kind of remodeling going on for the lobby was a mess! Upon entering the rooms you could tell that things had been rushed to make it look decent. The walls had cracks and the bathroom was less than subpar. The hotel is located in the Nana district so it's ridiculously loud. Outside there are a bunch of questionable characters just lounging around. Not to mention a lot of cab drivers don't know where the hotel is because it's just that unrecognizable. It is conveniently located to get around AND we were spared any flooding. Next morning we came down and another lady at the desk started yelling..."You have to pay" I said "Excuse Me" we paid for but rooms, she insisted we did not, my partner calmly told her, "I told the lady last night, we were paying for both rooms, and the other two would be here today." She said her colleague did not charge for both rooms. What incompetent people we were dealing with! That got sorted out, and her demeanor changed. However the damage was done, the staff is ridiculously rude!! They act as if they are doing you a favor! The only nice people were the two gentlemen who worked the lobby during the midnight shift.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, the only reason I give it a 2 rating is due to location! The rooms are drab, the walls had cracks in them, and the bathroom definitely needs a remodel. No wonder the price was great!! Luckily we were there for few days, so I dealt with it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekkergj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lovely little hotel. Right in the Nana area. The rooms are really nice and there is good service at the hotel.
Perfect hotel if you are singel. Go Go the bars are just around the corner and there is always time in the street. But it is calm and quiet in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Great service.Very helpful and friendly.The hotel is easy to get to from airport and no need to get a taxi.Just use train and BTS and is 150 bht. Location is very good as it's close to BTS stations and that makes it easy to get round Bangkok. Paid £40 for 3 nights off Asia rooms. With this hotel and area you get the true Bangkok experience.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keatsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#237 of 858 in Bangkok
553 reviews
Sukhumvit
128 Bangkok
128 Bangkok
#446 of 858 in Bangkok
6 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
#763 of 858 in Bangkok
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand Business Inn
Grand Business Inn
#362 of 858 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Sukhumvit
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#722 of 858 in Bangkok
34 reviews
Sukhumvit
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Inn Hotel

Property: Grand Inn Hotel
Address: 2/7-8 Sukhumvit Soi3, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $40 - $56
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing