We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
187
284
75
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
284
75
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolstreet foodfake windowyaowarat roadroom was cleanwithout windowschinese new yearhua lamphonggreat hoteltuk tukcost bahtgreat view of the cityduty managermrt stationwould stay againshort stayperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

If you want to be in the heart of Bangkok’s Chinatown this is a great location. Rooms are clean and have all of the usual amenities. There is a small rooftop pool to cool of in the afternoon from your walks through the maze of shopping opportunities that Chinatown provides. Unfortunately if you want a quiet and peaceful stay this may not be the place for you. The hotel hosts really large numbers of Chinese tours. Breakfast is usually crowded and seems to get a little less so as one tour departs and the next arrives for breakfast. The lifts are constantly crowded in the mornings with long waits as full lifts arrive and pass you by. Reception is a scrum of departing tours and baggage. While the service in the hotel is good, the room rates fair and the food acceptable we will opt for a quieter location next time so we can avoid the loud evening wake up calls as the travellers return home from their nights out. I suggest trying some place smaller and checking if they are regular tour group hosts for a more relaxing time in Chinatown.

Room Tip: Try a room on the high floors and as far from the elevators as possible.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 163arthurhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalBKK, Manager at Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear 163arthurhy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & happy with our service and it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us!
Once again thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Jimmy Rodpai
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Chinatown assaults the senses but this unassuming hotel stands out like an oasis in the desert. The staff are open and welcoming, the rooms brilliantly designed and decorated and the rooftop pool/bar the crowning glory.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalBKK, Manager at Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Stephen H,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown during your recent visit to Bangkok and for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our services. Please know that your comment to our staff attentive will be shared to all of team. They will be happy to hear your compliments!
We look forward to welcoming you back again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly via info@hotelroyalbangkok.com for any further inquire or assistance.

Best regards,
Jimmy Rodpai
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is at a great location right on the main street of Chinatown and within easy walking distance to the river which is the main street of the city.
On entering there is an overwhelming smell of jasmine the reception staff are polite but not over friendly or welcoming

The room was a huge disappointment no window it felt very claustrophobic the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

Breakfast was not included but could be bought in the restaurant. It was ok nut nothing special.

The lifts were often full and we had to wait for several minutes to find one with space .

The roof bar was very good there was a small pool but only 6 sun lounges and tables and chairs and a bar with fantastic views over Bangkok.

There was also a gym on the top floor.

All on all it served its purpose but I hated the room and if you break anything I accidently broke a glass they charge you 1 glass 400 Bart!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank JustJoan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalBKK, Manager at Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear JustJoan77,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Royal Bangkok @Chinatown and taking the time to post your feedback to us. Every comments are all important for us to consider.
First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay did not meet your expectation and I have informed concerned Department to investigate. However we will improve on that.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy Rodpai
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Nice and clean hotel. Big rooms with nice facilities. big and comfortable beds. A lot of tv channels. We had a room without window. But it's fine because you stay in Chinatown in BANGKOK so it's enough because u need a room only for sleep, take a shower and keep the luggage :) personnel it's nice! nice view from swimming pool but it's small. Prices in a bar are so ridiculous. And minus is Chinese people screaming all night in the corridor! Walls are to thin. Breakfast is really nice!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resort473777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalBKK, Manager at Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Michal P,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments and feedback following your stay at Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown. We all look forward to welcoming you back to us soon again.

Kind Regards,
Jimmy Rodpai
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Very friendly staff, great amenity and view with the rooftop bar and pool. Clean rooms and hotel in general. Best shower I took in Thailand! Great location right in Chinatown. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank torid9192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalBKK, Manager at Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear torid9192,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments and feedback following your stay at Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown. We all look forward to welcoming you back to us soon again and making your next trip an even more memorable one.

Kindly Regards,
Jimmy Rodpai
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews