We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before hiring longtail boats at Central Pier”
Review of Klongs

Klongs
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 34.76*
and up
Backwaters of Bangkok Longtail Boat Cruise with Optional Temples Tour
Ranked #43 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These are the many small waterways or canals that snake through the city of Bangkok.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Think twice before hiring longtail boats at Central Pier”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We wanted to explore the klongs off the Chao Praya, and as we felt uncertain about the local water taxis, we hired a longtail boat for an hour off Saphan Taksin Pier. I would advise against this option. There is a monopoly on the longtail boats now by one company - or so it appears -
and they basically charge whatever they want - and most tourists pay it. We paid 1200 baht for an hour, which proved to be not so great value. Most of that time was spent travelling up and down the river, then waiting while the boatman fixed the propeller, then sitting and waiting for the locks to open. We only journeyed through the main canals, and while this was fun and interesting, we were going so fast we couldn't even take photographs - we only spent about 20 minutes in the actual canals. Most of the other boats we saw were also longtails with tourists. I think our money would've been better spent on hiring a tour guide to accompany us on the smaller klongs, travelling on the water taxis as the locals do, at a much slower pace - much more authentic, or so I've heard.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    571
    198
    47
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Explore Real Bangkok”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Along the Klongs is wonderful time for explore real communities see how the local people live and amazing both side of Klongs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CyclingBangkokT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“should be compulsory for tourists”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Brilliant views and insight to local BKK life along the sides of the canal network.
I think it cost about 500 baht each for a 2 hour trip on a long tail boat but was totally worthwhile and fun.
The boats are the long ones with the massive engines at the back.Great fun to sit of lie down on the boat and take in the scenery with a cool breeze flowing over you.
The trip starts off kind of boring as the boat crosses the river and waits at the canal gates for them to open, however once you are in, you are captivated for the rest of the trip.
It is amazing to see the canal side house and how people live. It gives a totally different perspective to Bangkok life than you get from just staying in the city area.
You can get the tours from any dock along the river. The tour will take either just your party or combine with others.

Should be compulsory for BKK tourists.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank fran1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilbeek
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Essential to understand Bangkok”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is the only way to really understand the functioning and the essential working of the canals for everyday life. Not only is it an easy way of transportation, the canals are also used for fishing and washing of the clothes and at some places the canals became a floating market. During a canal tour, you will notice different styles of housing whereby nearly each house has its own mini-temple. I enjoyed a canal and biking tour organized by Co van Kessel, giving you the best view of both.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
315 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great way to travel and experience the city life at the same time”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We really enjoyed travelling along the Klongs whilst in Bangkok. As said they are a very cheap means of transport, especially East-West. They are mainly used by local commuters. We enjoyed the chance they gave to see ordinary life along the canal banks and there really isn’t much privacy for those who life overlooking the waterways. Also seeing the daredevil ticket collectors was quite a sight. The cost ranged from 10 to 16bht so very cheap.
You do have to be quite quick getting on and off and while you are on be sure to avoid any water spray.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank flan_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Klongs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing