We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vimanmek Mansion - CLOSED
Save
Book In Advance
  
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
98
115
62
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
115
62
23
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

As of July 31 2018 Vimanmek Mansion is closed; wish I had read TA before going.
Also Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall is closed I don’t know how long for as I don’t speak Thai and the security guard doesn’t speak English but judging by the fence around the property my guess is that it will be closed for a while to come...

4  Thank ShaneD1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

still closed. Wanted to visit and check the place but still under renovation. saddd :((((
for people who wanted to visit you can ride a bus from victory monument. bus # is 12. Fare is 9baht only

2  Thank Rycka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Don't lost your time, Vimanmek mansion is under renovation, the garden is even closed ...
The opening is not given and the closure to the public is not specified anywhere! always sell tickets with visit of the grand Palace and this House!

11  Thank Oliviercloitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This mansion is closed as of 25 June 2017. We asked the guards nearby and they said it is closed, and will be closed for a long, long time. Perhaps contacting them prior to the visit is a good idea. Otherwise, a visit to the Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall located next to the mansion is just as good.

5  Thank Foong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This is a traditional palace and the building made entirely of golden teak. Leave your cameras and mobile phones when you entering the room of Vimanmek Mansion. There will be double checking before entering the room. So many staff here to check you. Leave your shoes and slippers and wearing polite. But shoe storage area on the ground floor was smelly. Open tuesday - saturday from 08.30 - 16.30. Buy a ticket about 100 bath. But if you have bough Grand Palace tickets, you may FREE to get to Vimanmek Mansion. Vimanmek Mansion close to Dusit Palace Complex and Zoo

6  Thank Marry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Mansion site is now totally enclosed in steel sheeting. I spoke to a local guide who said it will be 'many many months' before it re-opens.
This is our second time of going all the way out there to find it closed.

8  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

After searching online I couldn't be sure that the palace was closed so we decided to check it out. We were dropped at an entrance opposite the zoo where a security guard from the parliament building next door told us the palace was shut so we walked round to the northern boundary where there was a notice with English language on it. While it is understandable to close for refurbishment from time to time, I was particularly disappointed because there is no explanation of the reasons or planned reopening. Such a shame I've wanted to see this palace for a very long time.

14  Thank Smitch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Its elaborate architectural style reflects a western influence.
Some rooms house exhibitions of art works, there is a silverware display room, a ceramic display room, a glassware display room and an ivory display room.Much to see for history buffs, fabulous building in teak.
An entrance ticket from the Grand Palace allows free entry to Vimanmek Mansion .

1  Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Historical building.
+ Very nice house and garden. We did not take a guided tour which I think can be recommended.
+ small food court within premises. Very good cheap food. Among the best street food we ate in Bangkok. Mains for 40-50 baht. Kids loved it. Mango was great.
- a little difficult to get to. We took a taxi but surprisingly few knew where it was.
- may was low season as parts of house and garden was closed.

Bring a lot of water during hot season.

2  Thank 72pontus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We went all the way to Dusit Park to visit Vimanmek Mansion just to find it was closed for restoration until further notice! What a disappointment! Appreciate the Thailand Tourism Authority provide this kind of information publicly. Besides us, there are a couple of Spanish tourists who were similarly let down.

5  Thank Ngan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews