We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute)
Open today: 9:30 am - 3:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fun experience

I am terrified of snakes but my significant other wanted to see the king cobras and pythons. He was... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
annrose2017
,
Tampa, Florida
Great afternoon outing in Bangkok!

This was a very cool way to spend the afternoon! (literally & figuratively) We were able to get... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
HappyLuckyTurtle
,
Cary, North Carolina
Read all 1,549 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bangkok
from USD 29.80
More Info
from USD 45.50
More Info
Colors of Bangkok
105 Reviews
from USD 39.20
More Info
from USD 36.10
More Info
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
580
341
80
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
341
80
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red cross snake show venom extraction snake handling king cobra burmese python venomous snakes live snakes afternoon show behind glass snake bite different species show starts on display couple of hours lumpini park interesting place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I am terrified of snakes but my significant other wanted to see the king cobras and pythons. He was able to hold one of the pythons and an iguana. The snake show was a bit unnerving but I still manage to enjoy it.

Thank annrose2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very cool way to spend the afternoon! (literally & figuratively) We were able to get there fairly easily taking the sky train and then a short walk. The center has a really nice selection of snakes and an informative education exhibit upstairs as well. All of the descriptions are in Thai and English, which was nice for us. The indoor sections are air conditioned, which was a welcome relief, and the outdoor seating area for the show had big fans. I suggest going out and getting seats early, as we went about 10 minutes before the show and sat on the upper steps. Not bad as we were comfortable enough and it's a small area, but as soon as they started bringing out snakes, everyone in front of us jumped up to see and held their cameras up, so we had a nice view of their backs, and less so of the show. We were able to move around a bit and see, but the front row or two had a better viewing experience. I took away a star because my daughter (the snake lover in the family) felt that they harassed the snakes a bit too much to get them to 'perform' for the demonstration. It was very informative, though, and we were able to hold a large albino boa afterwards, who was very docile and seemed unfazed by the ordeal. I would definitely recommend the Snake Farm as an outing while in Bangkok. We were there for 2.5 hours, and that was enough time to see everything, including the show. It would be worth timing the visit to see the show - ours was at 2:30pm, and I think that there are two on the weekday schedule, they have a website with details. It closes at 3:30, so plan ahead.

Thank HappyLuckyTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bangkok Snake Farm (official name Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute Bangkok, Thailand) is one of the largest and best snake farms and an institute that is conducting research on venomous snakes, the extraction of snake venom, and preparing vaccines for snake bites. It is located in the heart of Bangkok and easily approachable through MRT metro station Sam Yan. It was established in 1913 and managed by Thai Red Cross Society. It is a popular tourist attraction. The Institute is named after Queen Saovabha Phongsri, mother of King Rama IV of Chakri Dynasty.
The snake farm houses thousands of snakes, including some of the most venomous snakes in the world, such as the king cobra and all sorts of vipers. Snake Handling Shows and Venom Extraction Shows are held at 2.30 pm daily and at 11.00 am on weekends for the entertainment of tourists and visitors.

Thank Tassaduqhussain51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is great ! it's got loads of quite intersting explanations (in English) about snakes, an area outside where you can almost touch them.
A live show (shame that we couldn't understand and barely hear the guy presenting) twice a day (check their website for the hours, you do not want to miss it!)
They used about 7 different snakes to extract their venom and that was a crazy ride (not for the faint of heart!), some of the snakes were very agitated and even if you know the guys handling them are used to it you stay on the edge of your seat just in case as this is live and anything can happen!

Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

I found this visit so interesting since I have always been interested in snakes - from a distance! I've been a few time and usually take relations or friends when they visit. If I am not mistaken, this is one of the few such centres around the world where venon is collected to help people who are bitten by snakes..

Thank acstorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The Snake Farm is operated in cooperation with the Thai Red Cross and is the second oldest snake farm in the world. The snake farm and exhibitions are interesting and educational to walk around in, but the real highlights are the shows and demonstrations. Do be mindful that the shows are at set times and limited to just a couple shows a day.

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

A really cool place to bring your kids. Some snakes on display on the outside as well as inside. The inside a/c provides a nice relief from the heat. Learned good info on snake reproduction, digestion, body structure from the museum. Don’t miss the snake show on 2.30pm weekdays and 11.00am weekends! Walkable from Sam Yan MRT, and Chamchuri Square.

1  Thank Travelers23495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

In Bangkok it's a must to visit a snake farm, it gives me the heebie-jeebies, you see a lot of snakes species, overall cobras; you will have informations how they take them the poison, by let them bite into a glass covered with a paper, a brillant performance;

1  Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Very educational with in depth information and lots of snake species. Don't miss the snake handling demonstration. It s free. Grab the front seat earlier for closer encounter with the snakes and better photo taking. They also offer a photo session with a Burmese milk python, which is again, free. They encourage you to donate for the research of the snakes and venom but are not pushy at all. We don't have kids but it s definitely great for families.

Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

A unique experience including a boat trip, snakes, and a bunch of friendly monkeys.
Included a feed-the-fish highlight and a chance to see up close the "catfish" we eat in Australia under other names!
Only small disappointment was the "discounted" price we paid included an "enforced" 1 hour visit to a wonderful Jewel factory/shop which was way out of our price range..fascinating to see the local life on the canals

Thank redfred45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews