We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick and convenient way to commute in Bangkok”
Review of BTS Skytrain

BTS Skytrain
Ranked #2 of 584 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bangkok’s answer to mass transit started operating in December 1999 and is a convenient and useful way of getting around the city.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My colleague dropped me off near Terminal 21 at Asok, I jumped on the BTS there and switched trains at Siam station to get to my hotel. It was super easy! I had no problems getting tickets or riding the train with my suitcase.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JoM2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rabbit"
in 936 reviews
"day pass"
in 1,264 reviews
"air conditioned"
in 1,940 reviews
"peak hours"
in 328 reviews
"ticket machine"
in 386 reviews
"rush hour"
in 808 reviews
"train system"
in 361 reviews
"mode of transport"
in 530 reviews
"bangkok traffic"
in 710 reviews
"stuck in traffic"
in 301 reviews
"traffic jam"
in 519 reviews
"public transport"
in 538 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 316 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 734 reviews
"bts"
in 6,805 reviews
"card"
in 1,522 reviews
"coins"
in 1,594 reviews
Filter

2,422 - 2,426 of 44,913 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Forget taxis if you can unless you like being ripped off and sitting in endless traffic jams. The BTS Skytrain is quick, easy to use and whilst it can get very crowded at peak travel times, it is by far the easiest way of getting around. Ticket machines can often have a long queue so allow for that in journey planning particularly as both stations we used had machines that were out of order. English language can be selected and the machines give change from either coins or notes.
It seems that not all stations have escalators but lifts are available.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Due to the traffic the BTS is the fastest and cheapest way to get from A to B. Very nice and clean trains.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mohamedl201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were fortunate to stay at Shangri-La, which is about a 1 minute walk to Sathorn BTS station and also Sathorn pier. This is an inexpensive and convenient way to get around.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JH_10999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Next to the MRT, the BTS skytrain is the best way to get around downtown Bangkok or escape the busy streets on one of the elevated walkways.

For 140 THB you can buy a one day travel card. There are plenty of line extensions coming up. Bangkok’s public transport future looks very bright!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 500dank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BTS Skytrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing