We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #182 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It is close by tuk tuk to the malls and has a market street very close. there is an atm across the road, and has a tourism assistant in house.
the staff were very efficient, they stored our bags, as we arrived at 7 am and could not check in until 1pm.
the attica bar on the 23rd floor has a lovely view.
the pool is a good size, and there is a gym, although we never used it.
the only negative thing about this hotel is that it is closely situated to the highways and you hear the traffic at night.
the breakfasts were well organised and served a good variety.
the cocktails at happy hour were very reasonable and the majority of the reception staff spoke good English.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    513
    160
    57
    43
See reviews for
305
383
56
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons and it turned out to be a good choice - it was our last night in Thailand and after a couple of weeks of travelling and staying in some characterful but basic places we fancied a bit more comfort, as well as wanting easy access to the airport.

We arrived hot and dishevelled after a long journey involving a ferry, a plane, a coach, a train and 2 taxi's. From the moment we walked in the service was good and we felt welcome.

We enjoyed a dip in the nice pool, and enjoyed our first really hot shower for almost 2 weeks before relaxing in the complimentary robe and slippers. We then headed upto the roof terrace bar which has a nice view over the city and then tried the buffet meal in the lobby restaurant which had a varied choice and good quality of food. I tucked into the salad bar which made a nice change from Thai food.

Next morning we missed breakfast as we had an early start but got a taxi from the hotel no worries at 6am for the 5 minute journey to Makkasan station for the airport express which was a really hassle free way of travelling back to the airport and only took 15 minutes for 90 baht.

I probably would not recommend this hotel for an extended stay in Tahiland as it could be any room in any hotel in the worls, and is a bit far out from the main sights, but it was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The view from higher up rooms is great - we were on the 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponytales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

like a lot of city based hotels this hotel provides all the necessary essentials but nothing special to make this the holiday to remember. All rooms appear to have either two twin beds or 1 single and are clean and fresh looking. They all have independently controlled air con units (esential for travel in Thailand) andare supplied with complimentary tea/coffee making facility with two free bottles of water daily. the cleaning standard is high with sheets & used towels replaced daily.
the hotel is spread over 28 floors so you don't get that individual service at some smaller hotels. one member of our party faced some confusion over her bill with bar charges in the region of £600 for one g&t but this was soon rectified.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked a suite in this hotel. If you book a suite, there are some privileges: separate check in, every day fruit in the room, newspaper etc. When we arrived there was a large queue so we waited to be served. There were only two front office members to check in, so that took quite a while. When we checked in we got the key of our room. When we entered the room, we discovered it was not the suite. We went back to the reception and told this. Nobody seemed to be solving this problem. After waiting for another 15 minutes I got a new key, not even an apologize. This room was on floor 15, while we asked for an upper room. With not much pleasure they changed the room for one on floor 30.

The fact I give this hotel 2 out of 5 is because the room was spectacular. A nice view over the city and even sitting in the bathtub you could look over the city and had a view on the Bayoke tower. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bathroom was also very nice.

However, the service was - in our case - very bad. No fruit on the room, on the second day no newspaper and on the room no wifi internet access. I asked for it and they told me it was only available in the lobby. Well, I tried but you seemed to have a code to access and I didn't had much energy to go get a login code. I think it even was no free internet too.

Also breakfast was not very nice. The range of food was ok, but I had to ask 3 (!) times for a cup of coffee, and that was even around 7 o'clock while it was really quiet. Staff seemed to be disinterested and also at the egg counter, they were just hanging against the wall and don't made an active and friendly impression to me.

Check out was also not very pleasant. First they had to check the minibar. I told them that I didn't use it, but I had to wait for the check. This costed about 10 minutes. Then I lost my patience and told the front desk staff I was leaving, as I did. No question if I had a pleasant stay, nothing.

The hotel is situated in one of the busy parts of Bangkok, not far from the sky train but not a particular interesting part of the city. No much complaints about the location, but no taxi or tuktuk driver knows this hotel, so please take a card from the hotel with you with the Thai address on it.

I won't visit this hotel again. The only reason I like this hotel was because of the room and its view. Service was bad and that in a land like Thailand were most of the people are very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We used this hotel in 2009 and it was amazing. Went back there March 2012 and found that the standard of the rooms and breakfast really dropped. It is still a good hotel though. Value for money and centrally located!

Next time when i visit Bangkok i will definitely try another hotel!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SihlabaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#122 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#401 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#115 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Property: Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#146 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $46 - $109
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing