We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of The Local

The Local
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 28/5
20:00
Ranked #382 of 15,302 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Asoke
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Our family booked a private function room at this restaurant and had their banquet.

Unfortunately I found the food only average. Overall the food was a bit too sweet for our liking and very small serve. Not sure whether it's because we had the banquet instead of just a la carte.

The price is actually quite expensive for what we had as well.

The service was however very attentive. The waitress even went down to the end of the street to grab us a few taxi.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VincyC968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 450 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

Great thai food and relaxing atmosphere ,they serve what they consider to be old and authentic recipes !!!! i love the sticky rice with mango for dessert . i will definitely visit this place next time i'm back in Bkk ,thailand !!!!!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank matadorNaplesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The decor here is above average Thai restaurant and food was unique. Not same anything we tasted in other Thai restaurants and so delicious.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank fengfeng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Interesting how this restaurant did not turn up in our extensive search for the best authentic Thai meals in Bangkok. Of all the restaurants we've had the pleasure of dining yet this is by far the best authentic meal in Thailand during our two week long journey.

The rice brought out and wouldn't buckets, the spices and the fresh vegetables used in each dish, and the spiciness and flavoring of each and every dish was an amazing journey of explosive flavors to the pallet.

Although it took three hours to complete our 4.7 mile journey, in pre-holiday traffic, to this restaurant, the experience was still authentic and left us wanting more.

If we ever get over the traffic, rude taxi drivers, and crazy humid weather of Thailand, we will definitely be sure to make a trip to this restaurant one of our top priorities.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Adrenalinwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This was my first visit, while brought a surprise that all the seafood items were so fresh... We have ordered a stir fried whole crab in pepper sauce...I think it was a great choice, sooooooo fresh and the light pepper herbs paired up well with the crab. And the raw shrimps were great choices for appetizers. However the wine list has only limited choice, BYOW may be better, corkage is only Baht400.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Kitkitson_Spicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.