We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 148
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 129
USD 117
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 129
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 234
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 99
USD 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 145
USD 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
USD 87
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
USD 233
USD 151
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,394)
Filter reviews
9,394 results
Traveller rating
7,048
1,697
409
153
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,048
1,697
409
153
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrungthep winghorizon clubthe riverriverside loungechi spakrung thep wingthe main hotelbalcony roomdinner cruisethai restaurantevening cocktailsbreakfast buffetour honeymoonfive star hotelwonderful hotelsky train stationnight market
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 9,394 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Ultimate convenience to public boat and metro rail systems to get anywhere you want. Huge facility. I highly recommend the Krungthep wing room with a river view. We had fantastic views of the city as well as the river. We've stayed in nice places around the world, and this offered the most expansive, delicious breakfast buffet we've ever seen. Outside seats next to the river. The resort is so luxurious you almost feel guilty. We enjoyed the resort pool which had seats right by the river. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our river view room was HUGE. There was an enormous bedroom with balcony, bathroom with tub and shower. The large living room area also had a balcony, desk area, a bar area with mini-fridge, and another bathroom.
It's worth noting that this hotel has two entrances; one for Shangri-La, the other for the Krungthep wing. It's large enough that you'll want to make sure tour buses and car arrangements have the proper info.

The area just around the corner from the hotel has shops and restaurants, a night market, and good sized mall with stores and a supermarket. There is 24-hour staff at the Krungthep entrance scanning bags with metal detectors for security.

Overall very luxurious and convenient!

Room Tip: Krungthep wing with river view was awesome
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JH_10999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear JH_10999,

Thank you for staying at Krungthep Wing, Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok and many thanks for this positive review. Your continued support truly means the world to us. It makes us very happy to hear that you had excellent stay. Thank you for your kind compliments about our services and attentive colleagues. It is always our pleasure having you on a visit and we wish to see you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great staff. Nice room with river view. Loved the pool. Good location. Reception area was always nice and cool, and had a lovely fragrance (white flower we were told). Happy hour was a bonus. We stayed for three nights whilst site-seeing in Bangkok, before we went on to Ko Samui. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamberleyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear CamberleyChris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and many thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed an overall exceptional stay here. I wish you to have a pleasant stay in Ko Samui and I also wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel is decorated nicely and has a luxurious atmosphere. The rooms were good and the river view is nice. Staff at the reception is very helpful and kind.
The breakfast is good and has a wide selection. The menu for lunch and dinner was also good. Sometimes the staff in the restaurant was not really paying attention to the guests, we had to ask multiple times for ordering or the bill etc. It would be better if they could notice guests more.
Overall, the hotel was a delight to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Anil T,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your valuable review. We are happy to hear about your positive stay and great experience. I would also like to thank you for your kind feedback on our staff. Your comment is very valuable to us. I will share with the department head to make sure our staff are always attentive and provide a very good services. Thank you for the compliments and recommendations. We wish to welcome you to Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok someday.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

With my own eyes, I saw Higher Level & Managers were unfriendly & even rude towards staff. It was done in front of many guests. Its not the Shangri-La that I love about.
I hope my review will improve the situation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keentraveller892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear keentraveller892,

Thank you for staying at the Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and thank you for your valuable feedback. It is with great concern that I learn from the things you have witnessed with regards to team members allegedly speaking in an inappropriate manner . I would like to learn more about the details so that we can understand the extend of the concerns, would you mind giving me some more details by e-mail: Jan.Kaiser@shangri-la.com. Your feedback and further details are of utmost importance as the Team and our guests value the Shangri-La culture. . I look forward hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We usually spend 3-4 nights here travelling through Bangkok, and it remains a favourite after some years. The location is perfect: on the Chao Phraya river with its
open views, activity, and effective transport, at the Saphan Taksin transfer point with the Skytrain. Inside, its notable feature is its calm spaciousness, making the public rooms comfortable at all times.
Rooms are beautifully fitted in tropical hardwood, comfortable beds, and have every facility. They typically have a window seat, giving a panoramic river view. Large, comfortable bathrooms.
Breakfast seems to be popular, and we usually avoid the buffet in favour of the a la carte menu served to a table on the terrace. Wide choice of food available at all times, and served beautifully. Recommend the lounge for snacks and drinks.
The entrance to the hotel's Krungthep Wing is opposite the Skytrain Station (air-conditioned walkthrough from the wing to the main Shangri-La Hotel). Rooms in the Krungthep Wing are little more expensive, but we generally prefer the main hotel. Both wings have pools and well-appointed terraces.
The hotel offers a rare city-centre combination of calm space, quiet and self-sufficiency that allows genuine relaxation during a travel schedule.

Room Tip: Choose a river view. Use the hotel transfer service from the airport.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear bmozz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and many thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed an overall exceptional stay here. Your kind compliments about our room, view, location, and our foods are highly appreciated. It was indeed all our pleasure having you on a visit and we are already looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews