We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in August 2011 for five nights in a deluxe river balcony room in the newer wing.
What can I say other then everything from the check in to the check out was perfect. The staff were all so polite and friendly, the room had the most amazing view of the river, the bathroom amenties were stocked up every day, and the bed turned down with a new basket of delicious fruit to eat. The pool area was superb, the friendly staff would quickly give us free water and towels and were always very quick with drink orders.

We had the buffet breakfast daily in the Next2 restaurant where they served a huge display of options, my favourites were the daily special shangri la smoothies and the flavoursome sorbets. My husband would get his free Bangkok newspaper and sit by the river and eat his freshly made omelette, divine relaxation from our busy jobs. The manager at breakfast times was so helpful!

We went on the Shangri la's horizon boat cruise for dinner. The seafood and sushi were very tasty and sitting outside on the deck, with all the Bangkok city lights was very romantic. I highly recommend this boat trip. Shangri la is so close to the river ferries to go see the Grand Palace or to use the sky train to go shopping. The main foyer had the most amazing female singer with a splendid voice, we would sit and listen for hours sipping on cocktails:) Lastly, the gym facilities at this hotel are awesome, very large and giving out free bananas and water. Overall, we cant wait to go back, 5 star luxury at its best!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyliemac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,160
    1,490
    363
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,640
3,781
473
1,038
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,900)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have been to Bangkok for business, leisure and incentive, and have stayed in a variety of hotels. Shangri-La is by far the best hotel.

You can engage in the happenings of the city but when you step back into the hotel, there's a sense of peace and quiet. A beautiful scent lingers in the lobby of the hotel which makes you feel relax when u enter.

The bed and pillows are the most comfortable I've had for some time, and the room is cosy and offers a picturesque view of the Chao Praya river. For those afraid of sleeping alone in the dark, there's a dim night light that u can turn on.

The only bad part of the hotel is the Thai food it serves up. I had a lunch at the cafe and dinner at the Thai restaurant, and find the food lacking of Thai flavours. Salads had no punch to it, soups were rather bland and Phad Thai was just too sweet.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumbailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester uk
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful spot on the river, therefore, you must get a river view as there is nothing much to see around the hotel but even the lower floors would probably still be quite good. This is a luxury hotel without going over the top and is in a good position for catching the skytrain and river boats which are very frequent. The restaurants were good for both breakfast and dinner and you could sit inside or outside, though watch out for the mosquitos if you are near a light as you will get eaten alive. Also there was a nice bar area outside. The prices were not cheap, but probably competitive for this quality of hotel. Our room was good with a huge king size bed although it needs more drawer space and a modern bathroom . The pool area was great to come back to after a long day sightseeing. There was a very good size pool with plenty of nice loungers. The pool staff were very attentive and laid out towels for you and organised umbrellas (although they could do with a few more). They also brought free iced water and topped this up without asking and served food on a lap tray if you so desired. Internet/computer access was free. All the staff we came across were extremely polite and helpful and seemed very happy in their work unlike surly staff in many hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel if i was staying in Bangkok again.

Room Tip: A river/pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Traveled as a family and stayed one night, then traveled to Hua Hin and then returned to stay a further 2 nights.
CAR AIRPORT TRANSFER - We were collected from the airport by BMW 7 series swiftly and speedily.
HOTEL ARRIVAL - On arrival at the hotel our bags were taken from the car and we were swiftly taken straight up to our suite where check in was done in our room. Great touch.
ROOM - We had a suite overlooking the river. The suite was large, clean, tidy and had everything you would expect a 5* hotel to have.
HORIZON CLUB - As we had a suite we could use the Horizon Club on the 24th floor, but between 5-30 and 7-30 you could eat and drink for free. This had great views of the River and it was great to watch the evening draw in. The drinks were plentiful and the nibbles were great.
HOTEL LOUNGE - This was ok. I say only ok because it lacked atmosphere. The drinks were in my opinion overpriced, but that's hotel prices I suppose.
SWIMMING POOL - Great pool, even had its own water jacuzzi loungers in the pool. The sun beds were plentiful and of very good quality. The pool waiters brought complimentary iced water and fruit all day. The menu for food around the pool was small but the food was excellent although it took nearly 45 minutes.
RECEPTION AND CHECK OUT - First class, no complaints
CAR TRANSFER TO AIRPORT - This was excellent. The driver dropped us off at the airport where we were greeted by a hotel representative who took our bags, took us to our flight desk, checked our bags in for us and then escorted us to the departure passport control. We felt like movie stars. I have never been looked after so well and what a great way to leave a lasting memory of the hotel experience.

This hotel is in my opinion the best in Bangkok.

Would I stay here again - YES
Would I stay in other Shangri-La hotels around the world - YES

Well done and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, it is only £25uk more. Request a River View for £10uk more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BottmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the krunge Wing which was excellent value . The service was outstanding everyone was professional and at the same time friendly .All staff where accomdating to all our needs
The hotel is right near the skytrain which is the quickest and cheapest way to get around . Also you can catch the ferry to the palace right next door to the hotel . It is also near the freeway exit. This however is an older hotel more of an institution than swanky so if you are looking for a good nights sleep great service and a full stomach then this is the place for you !

The BMW transfer was well worth the money as we got to the airport in time and style,

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgottohaveitPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 863 in Bangkok
6,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $188 - $339
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing