We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
193
509
192
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
509
192
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews patpong night market nice hotel silom area pat pong fitness room night life location is great le meridien swimming pool hotel location nice pool street food skytrain station tuk tuk lobby wifi shopping
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Everything was as i expected. Very friendly staff. Good services. I would definitely stay here again.

FYI...the cost of a meter-taxi from the hotel to BKK airport was 400 baht plus 70 baht for motorway tolls.

FYI...in Thailand like in many other countries (UK, Ireland...) when you pay by credit card the machine may offer you to pay in your home-country currency. This illusion of convenience comes at a cost of 5% shared between the establishment and the credit card processing company. The credit card terminal will always ask what currency you want to pay in but many times you are presented the terminal only when the PIN is required or other times you are given a slip to sign. At any time you see an equivalent amount in your home currency (CAD, USD, AUD.....) you will be charged that amount and it is NOT to your advantage. This happened to me at the Tawana hotel. I refused to sign the credit card slip. The cashier had to cancel the transaction and re-do it in Thai baht. Beware......this is unfortunately a scam sponsored directly by Visa and Mastercard in order to inflate their revenues. American Express does not do that. Make your purchases in local currency and let your bank apply the ongoing exchange rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

When I first walked in, I had the feeling that I was stepping into an opulent past, as the lobby was huge with chandeliers etc, and a live pianist.. so had high hopes for my room, which were not met.

The room and hallways had a funny smell, and while my bed was super comfortable and the room clean, my first room had a bit of mould in the bathroom and the furniture seemed outmoded.

It is however in a great location, near the Patpong night market, and also really close to the metro station.. one thing.. when travelling to the airport by taxi, even if the concierge tells you the driver should charge only 500Bhat, confirm with the driver BEFORE you get in the cab, as sometime they charge extra (80 Bhat) for the tolls.

Ping-pong shows are also overrated and be careful of places that offer free shows or drinks. What they often mean is that the first show or drink is free and for the following shows you have to pay.. and a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking or recently renovated room..
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mtl_guy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

To echo some of the previous statements and reviews, the location is the most outstanding feature of the Tawana. There is nothing wrong with the hotel itself and it appears to provide a good 4 star level of service, however the rooms are slightly dated and not finished quite as well as other city hotels. That said, they provided us with a room at very short notice and the breakfast was rather good. WiFi was strong and complimentary toiletries and T/C making facilities were available.

Despite the location on top of Patpong market it is nicely insulated and we got a good night's sleep.

We stayed for 1 night and for 3,200 Baht I would say we got our money's worth. Any longer and I would have wished to gain a discount on the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

if you want convenience, this is the place for food, shopping, massage... there is a good Thai restaurant 5 mins walk- Mango Tree for foreigners. Thai'sfind it expensive. It is ok for me because the food and embience is good but service so-so. Nearbye, there are Chinese, Japanese, local Thai places to eat- cheap and good. I like a street stall that sells chicken noodles. The chicken melts in your mouth. The hotel food is so-so. the hotel is not the best for kids due the the surrounding at Patong area. A simple taxi from airport by meter is less than TB 300. I made a mistake of booking the London taxi cab at the airport and paid TB 1200! A smart way is to go to the arrival gate, take the taxis when they drop off passengers. This tip will save you much TB. Thanks for the beers :-)

Room Tip: check for promotional rates
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed at the Tawana hotel for 4 nights and thought it was an excellent hotel with a great location and great value for my money. Sure, the rooms were a bit dated as some of the other reviews state but who cares?! I spent very little time in the room as i was on vacation and was out all day exploring, The rooms do have a certain charm to them and are very clean. The pool was great too. The hotel has a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this property to anyone travelling to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews