We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WendoGoldCoast_Qld
Gold Coast, Australia

Happy with value for money

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2011
I enjoyed our stay at Banyan Tree as the food, Moon Bar and service were excellent. Yes it has aged a bit, but it was a big plus having a suite with extra room. The staff in Club Lounge were very helpful in assisting us with scanning docs. Although out of the shopping district they provided a free shuttle to the nearest Skytrain station and it only took minutes to get to the shops. I bought a deals voucher so was pleased with the price.
Date of stay: September 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$197
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • KLOOK
    AU$158
  • Priceline
    AU$182
2.0 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$172
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
    AU$195
  • KLOOK
    AU$139
  • travelup.com
    AU$202
2.0 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$233
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$254
  • KLOOK
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
    AU$254
2.9 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$259
  • Expedia.com
    AU$362
  • Vio.com
    AU$231
  • Hotels.com
    AU$362
2.7 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$105
  • Expedia.com
    AU$194
  • Agoda.com
    AU$95
  • Priceline
    AU$102
2.6 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$194
  • Agoda.com
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
3.6 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$84
  • Priceline
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$72
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
2.7 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$108
  • Priceline
    AU$108
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$91
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
2.4 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$162
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$435
4.7 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$206
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$212
  • Agoda.com
    AU$162
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
2.7 km from Banyan Tree Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bangkok
Reviews (13,642)
Filter reviews
13,642 results
Traveller rating
10,986
1,847
508
161
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10,986
1,847
508
161
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moon bar vertigo restaurant the club lounge saffron restaurant rooftop restaurant our honeymoon one bedroom suite turn down service amazing hotel welcome drink tuk tuk lek incense floor mie benz 61st
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9,871 - 9,876 of 13,642 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Banyan Tree at Club level for our first 2 nights of our honeymoon. It was fantastic. The Hotel was first class and the staff were all fantastic. They were very welcoming and made our stay even more remarkable. I would certainly recommend club level.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Padraic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel, staff, room were all excellent. We didn't love Bangkok so much after our previous weeks on a desert island but the hotel was a massive plus. As it was our honeymoon they gave us a special welcome and a lovely bottle of wine and sweets in our room. Excellent customer service, everyone has a smile for you. The tuktuk driver was brilliant. We ate at Vertigo one night and the food was outstanding - the Kobe beef I will be hearing about for years I think from my husband. We had a photo taken during dinner - a fun touch, and were given a fry ice cocktail for a honeymoon treat. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we pass through Bangkok again. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Choose a room as high up as possible to give you the best view - unless you have terrible vertigo!!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonbaby250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was one experience my wife and I did enjoy. Our rooms were spacious and well laid out. The service we had from the staff was excellent, although communication was somewhat a mild problem at times. The concierge and door men were fantastic. Liked the layout and dress of staff. Restaurants were 5 star with beautiful food. The breakfast selection was also 5 star. Loved the piano and thai music being played in the lobby area. Very relaxing. The swimming pool area was to windy however the thai massages were to die for. Most enjoyable was the Gallery Shop and breakfast each day. Would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
3  Thank brian-sheppard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Yes, it is a Banyan Tree but the overall experience is not quite as expected. The staff are very good and helpful but the property is showing signs of age and could do with a makeover. As others have mentioned, the breakfast restaurant can get overcrowded despite valiant efforts from the restaurant staff, especially as the hotel gets plenty of tour groups who all descend for breakfast around the same time prior to leaving. The rooms are OK but showing their age - the one we were in this time had a very small bath, the tiles in the bathroom needed regrouting and the TVs were small and old-style, not flat screen.

It's the details that let the place down: for example the small pool area has about 18 sun beds and as it is rainy season in Bangkok currently it rains pretty well daily and usually late afternoon/evening. You would imagine that they would cover the sun bed mattresses or remove them, but no. Next morning you are expected to sit on a saturated mattress and when we removed the sodden mattresses to sit on the bare sun bed, the mildew on of the mattress undersides showed that they are never removed. Also, wifi in your room will cost you 16 baht per MINUTE. This is scandalous in a day and age where Internet access is a given. If guests want to sit in reception to work, they are given 2 hours per day complimentary public area wifi access. It is just not good enough.

The prevalence of transient tour groups may be indicative that this Banyan Tree is chasing a different market, given the plethora of 5* hotels in Bangkok these days. We will be back there soon (pre-booked arrangements) for what may well be our final visit. Unfortunately, this Banyan Tree does not warrant premium prices.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear sue14,

Thank you very much for the comments you posted; we appreciate your taking the time to give feedback on your experience.

I was very sorry to hear about your disappointment over unmet expectations, however before I address the concerns you raised, please allow me to thank you for praising our associates, as we are very proud of our staff and your comments are a testimony to their dedication and professionalism.

Regarding the issues which you have highlighted in your feedback, we are aware that the restaurant where breakfast is served may at times get overcrowded and this is why guests are then escorted to the Club Lounge on 19th Floor, where breakfast is also served during periods of very high occupancies. There has clearly been a communication breakdown during your stay, as it seems that you were not informed of this, and I sincerely apologize for that, and the inconvenience caused.

As you might have seen from our response to other postings, the hotel is in the process of a soft refurbishment and maintenance in some areas, and amongst the upgrades is the installation of LED TVs in all rooms and suites. We are expecting to be able to complete the installation throughout the hotel shortly, so that all our guests will soon be able to look forward to and enjoy latest generation TV screens. With regards to the sun bed mattresses, I would like to assure you that our associates always keep them clean and dry, and particularly so in the morning and after it has rained, but I appreciate your letting me know that this may have not always been the case at the time of your stay; I will make sure we do this consistently, and will share your feedback with the team in charge of the pool area.

I wish to renew our sincere apologies if your expectations were not fully met this time, and look forward to ensuring that your next stay with us will be a most pleasant one. I would also welcome the opportunity to personally meet you, and you should please do not hesitate to contact my office to let them know when your next visit will be.

In the meantime, I remain

With warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We recently stayed for 3 nights as a gift for our Honeymoon. Banyan is a stunning hotel with incredible style, staff and service. The decor and feel of the place is very relaxing and classy and a nice contrast after a day in Bangkok. The people are fantastic, so polite and genuinely want you to enjoy every aspect of your stay. Club lounge is great with free alcohol and nice food and snacks. Vertigo bar is incredible and not at all overpriced, more than in the street but 700 baht for a beer and cocktail is very fair considering the unique location and experience. Breakfast staff in the Romsai were the only slight concern but that would be really picky, there were just slight language barriers on occasions (largely my fault). Would love to come back and hopefully will do.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews