We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most re-visited hotels in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“One of the most re-visited hotels in the world”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have just stayed for the fourth time at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok. This is a truly unique hotel. It is steeped in history and remains a classy five star hotel without the feeling of a large impersonal establishment. To the contrary, the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is a very intimate place to stay and it enjoys an enviable riverside location on the Chao Phraya. In particular, we look forward to the superb buffet breakfast on the river when we come to stay and try to take advantage of the spa and gym facilities on the other side.
I found out today that the hotel provides a shuttle boat to the sky-train which would be a great way to get to and from the major shopping precincts without having to use taxis in peak hour traffic.
This time we stayed in the Garden Wing above the author's lounge. If you can stretch your budget to stay in one of these rooms, you'll be rewarded with sensational river views. My only criticism is that the bathrooms are starting to become a little dated, and if the Mandarin is to maintain its prestigious reputation and pricing, then a refurbishment will be in order in the not too distant future given the plethora of new 5 star hotels springing up.
Nevertheless, this hotel will always be "The Oriental" - one of the most famous hotels in the world, and providing an experience that I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in the Garden Wing if you are able to. Enjoy a coffee or a cocktail on the terrace. The buffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ___Dr__J0Hn___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,549
    449
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
750
1,808
315
533
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I are just back from a stopover in Bangkok, and had a wonderfully relaxing time at this exquisite hotel. We were in room 203 which was cool, serenely quiet, beautifully furnished, and overlooking the river Chao Phraya.

Before arrival we booked a package from Antilog Vacations in India.They are the wholesalers of Thailand tours across the world & customise it as per the requirement.We got very cheap rates for Mandarin & hence booked a tour package online ( without flights bt inclusive stay , transfers, tours , meals etc ) without thinking much

The hotel is situated at the feet of the river Chao, away from a very busy road, and it was lovely to arrive in such a peaceful place after our long flight. It’s away from the market and the airport, so it is bttr to travel by taxi. There is a good size swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers, a jacuzzi and a nice looking traditional Thai building where one can have spa treatments. All set in a lovely garden with lots of shrubs and trees. I had a Thai foot massage on the roof terrace of the spa building in the open air which was very enjoyable.

The room was beautifully decorated with a beautiful view of Chao Phraya river. The room was clean and fully equipped, but bedroom size is quite small compared with other hotels in that area. We had a lovely dinner at Lord Jims- the reataurant. Eating by the river on the verander restaurant or having a cocktail in the bamboo bar listening to the live music was superb.

The spa was an excellent one, its worth the money, I had a herbal oil massage.
Nw frm nw wenever we are in Bangkok we wud wish to enjoy the hospitality of this extraordinary First Class Hotel, the location is something special, so is the very charming attitude of the staff. I forgot to mention the swimming pool, it’s a happening pool with glasses of iced water brought round regularly. Mr. Goessing and the entire staff make sure your stay is comfortable, luxurious, and with the most personalized service.

Advise

If you try to book the hotel from third party website or hotel and take the tour separately , it will cost you a mammoth. A good travel wholesaler in 3rd world country like India can give you cheap rates & tours at a really good rate.That is what I personally feel after having searched so many booking options

Thanks to Mandarin staff for excellent hospitality & wholesale agent for their gr8 rates and service

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akhilesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Well located, nice peid a terre to relax in for a fort night or two. WOnderful loction, great amenities and services.

Room Tip: upgrad, you get what you pay for in Bangkok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

MO is not a cheap hotel but it really worth what you're paying!
The room is spacious and beautiful, the bathroom is incredibly great and the amenities really smell good!
They have a very nice swimming pool (even 2) and the breakfast buffet is enormous and very tasty!
No need to say that the staff is polite, helful and really make you feel special.

One of my favorite thing is the Chao Phraya river viex at night, from the terrace restaurant!
Finally, this is the best equiped gym center i have ever seen! The only thing missing is a TRX!
And the spa... I have no words to describe it! You really have to try it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We went for the Sunday Brunch and discovered that it had been discontinued indefinitely. The Afternoon Tea in the Author's Lounge was however as filling and very entertaining as we watched to comings and goings. An excellent teea menu and delicious treats.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmcchlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
608 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,122 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $403 - $846
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing