We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Escape from Bangkok while in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #24 of 843 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Escape from Bangkok while in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After staying in many hotels around Bangkok, we would have to say Anantara Riverside is definitely a great place to stay. You are a away from all the noise but with every easy access back into heart of Bangkok. There is a fantastic boat service by the hotel that ferries guests across the river to the skytrain station. The buffet breakfast was amazing! The rooms expansive and comfortable. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jellybaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,519
    1,193
    249
    78
    25
See reviews for
1,375
2,216
217
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

I previously stayed in this hotel when it was a Marriott hotel. About six months ago I noticed the hotel changed the flag to Anantara, a Thailand based luxury resort chain.

I don't want to say it has all to do with brand name change but I must say I was disappointed in recent stay in the hotel, which was not so evident in the days of Marriott.

For example, in my seven days stay, only on two nights turn-down service was provided. When I come back to my room late at night, I had to close curtains and drapes myself and lay downforce towel myself. As a frequent business traveler to many Asian cities, I am very much familiar with standard, basic 5-star hotel services and this hotel did not live up to a common expectation for a five-star hotel in BKK. Furthermore, Internet (free) was only provided in public areas but not in the room. I was told that internet inth room is povifed for only one hour per stay. I thought this was unreasonable given that the cost of providing Internet is largely "fixed" cost which varies little by volume of usage.

Finally, no taxi driver seemed to know where the hotel is when I mention Anantara. I tried to look up he name of hotel on the key card but there was no hotel name or address in Thai language printed on it - I thought the management of the hotel could be smarter than this.... Just print the hotel name and address both in English and Thai to make it more informative.

I would not return to this hotel for sure and I wou not recommend to anyone either.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 143b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so very sorry to read that we let you down during this visit. Your comments are a great learning opportunity for us. We do take this as a chance to always improve the service we provide to our guests. I would like to get in touch with you personally to learn more about your stay, and so if convenient, please contact me via email on cpronk@anantara.com.

I look forward to being in touch directly.

Warm regards,

Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good value for money. There are a handful of reasonable good restaurants in the hotel, among them an Italian and a Japanese. The hotel provide a complimentary boat shuttle to the Skytrain station that will take you to many locations.

The shower room is huge, although it looks jaded with the grouting of the wall tiles mossy.

The Junior suite that we stayed in was reasonable big and well equipped with complimentary tea, coffee and toiletries.

The swimming pool is big enough and so is the king sized bed which looked more like a super king size to me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PermanentJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

After traveling several times to Bangkok I felt that I knew it all and could not be told anything I didn't already know. For the sake of my wife and mother I eventually capitulated and resigned myself to taking the Anantara Riverside Resort's Streetwise Guru Tour. Never in all my years of travel have I had a more worthwhile experience. We were taken places and experienced things that most Farrang never encounter. Our guide was magnificent, his love for his city shone through and was both infectious and intoxicating. This wonderous place now holds many more treasures for this now "streetwise" traveller. The Resort is exquisite and offers wonders for couples and families alike. Our son was treated like a king and it was great to have some tranquil space for him to roam in an otherwise busy crowded environment. Stay here. Take the tour. You will not go wrong.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suisse
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

It is the third time in a row that we stay in this previous marriott now anantara. Nothing changed and it is very nice to find this place as nice and good as previously. The only problem we encountered was about the reservation. No answer, eventually 2 different offers with different prices and higher than on Booking.com...very confusing, and they don't really care about it. Thankfully we found everything ok eventually. We love the 15 minutes transfer by ferry to the TBS, which gives you just the time to relax or prepare from or for the big city..

Room Tip: Be aware that the location is 15 minutes by ferry to the TBS and ask for a river view room or suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninisuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 843 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,580 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 843 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 843 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $137 - $289
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Expedia APAC so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing