We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #125 of 899 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Excellent hotel, beautiful, comfortable, clean, professional friendly stuff....beside the hotel a big shopping mall high quality and everything you need, lots of restaurants...beautiful people.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank IhabS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,068 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

Good Location, Good Food, Average Rooms, the hotel is under renovation, the rooms looks old

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Upon approaching the hotel from the airport, we could already see the building from the highway. I was expecting the worse, as the building looked quite drabby from the outside (probably due to the close proximity to the freeway).

However, upon entering the hotel I was relatively surprised. It was clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were all generally friendly and helpful.

The rooms are of fair size and clean. The only downside was the bathtub, which was pretty small, cramp and short. The best feature of the room was the flatscreen TV with a variety of channels to choose from.

Facilities are also great. They have many restaurants and a lounge as well as a gym and pool. The food at the lounge was also surprisingly good.

Although we did not have the opportunity to use the gym and pool, they looked fine and well maintained.

There's nothing much to do around the area except to check out some shops and the mall. On weekends this hotel is just a stones throw away from the weekend market. I would suggest that you take a taxi though, which will be only a 5 minute journey. There's also a train station nearby, which will take you to more popular tourist spots and to the heart of Bangkok city.

This is a hotel which I would recommend if you choose not to stay too close to the nightspots and is a good choice for business travellers, as the location is convenient (close proximity to the airport and city centre) and facilities are abound.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluePeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed for two nights here on 8 and 9 August. We like Sofitel hotels very much so usually do not check them out on Trip Advisor. However, just before we arrived I did look this one up and was alarmed to see some of the reviews about the hotel being tired and needing a facelift. However on check in I was pleasantly surprised. Here are my comments

Room - our room was no smoking on the 17th Floor. Quite spacious, OK a little dated (shower in the bath) etc but we obtained an excellent rate from Sawadee for AUD$113 per night including breakfast. Who could complain about that? If you want a modern, plush room pay a lot more and stay somewhere else. Air con was a little noisy. Flat screen TV and safe. Usual charge for internet access.

Breakfast - very good selection of Western and Asian dishes. Great pastries. Service is excellent.

Check in - no issues for us. Quick and easy. Staff very friendly. When we arrived by taxi we paid the driver who promptly told me that he had "no change". He seemed unaware that we had heard that line plenty of times before. I went through my purse and handed him a $1000 baht note in error. This was quickly retrieved from the driver by the charming chief concierge, dressed in full colonial gear, and handed back to me!

Swimming pool - good size in a charming oasis style garden. Hard to believe you are in the centre of Bangkok. It was though a little dirty with algae growing on the steps and black spot on the floor. It needs a good clean and the area around it needs sweeping. This was the one area that was not up to the usual high Sofitel standard in my opinion.

Fitness Centre - excellent. My partner is a gym junkie and extremely fussy about the equipment, cleanliness etc. This one ticked all the boxes. Large, latest equipment, supervised. Fantastic.

Shuttle bus - complimentary for guests to the Chidlom and Silom shopping centres. One tip, if you take this bus when you arrive at the shopping centres there is a book that you have to enter your name to say you want to be picked up when the bus next calls. If you do not, the bus drops off, driver checks the book and if there are no names, he drives off. The hotel does not tell you about this, we caught a taxi back. No big deal, taxis are cheap in Bangkok. And talking about taxis ........

Taxis - make sure you take a metered taxi. If the "meter is broken" catch another one. You will be surprised how quickly the meter springs back into life. Also we pay all the tolls in cash on the way then just pay the meter price at destination. Otherwise the driver adds on the tolls at the end and you have no way of knowing whether the final price is correct or not.

Hotel - I believe this hotel is being refurbished this year. It is very close to the famous weekend market (a must to see) and next door is a large shopping centre.

Thank you Sofitel for a great stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stopped at this hotel for a week on business but my wife was with me. I have stopped here before because it is convenient for business, the first time was over 15 years ago. It seems that very little has been done to the hotel in this period. As noted by several reviewers, the lobby is nice and the restaurants (particularly the Italian) range from good to very good - but the quality of the rooms for this price range is unacceptable. I was also a little perturbed by the inefficient checkin (the staff are nice, but it took forever) and the attempt to charge me 400baht per night extra because my wife was with me, when the booking (internet) for a double room with 2 persons never mentioned this.
If it were not for the convenience, I would not stop here. There are too many other good hotels in Bangkok for this price (or less).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
AETAS bangkok
#80 of 899 in Bangkok
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $117 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In northern Bangkok, minutes away from Chatuchak Park and both MRT (tube/subway) and BTS (Skytrain) stations, the hotel seamlessly connects to CentralPlaza shopping centre. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. The rooms boast bright and spacious living spaces (up to 170 sq m.) and garden or city views. There’s free Wi-Fi, a lush swimming pool, an award-winning spa, a fitness centre, and no less than nine locally-acclaimed restaurants and bars. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing