We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - Aging and in need of a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #138 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,450 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“Good location - Aging and in need of a renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is in a good location accessible by subway and close to shopping and restaurants.
Reception was brusque and almost rude - so unlike most hotels in Bangkok. Rooms are spacious but rather dated. Breakfast was crowded. Good for a couple of nights stay. There are other choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    416
    160
    50
    24
See reviews for
109
132
144
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It's a 4 star hotel that has slipped to 3 stars through age and lack of updating. Accor is a good company: they should invest in this property a bit and tighten it up. I love the location, though. A couple of items: better Club Floor lounge food and drink selections (VERY average) and get a decent internet service provider (service was extremely dodgy).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked the room online on their website but when we arrived the rooms were not allocated for us. After what seemed an eternity waiting at the check-in desk due to some other groups checking out (and what looked like inefficient service), we waited an extended amount of time again after that in order to get our rooms sorted out, and the staff were not exactly the friendliest people around - appeared harrassed and were impatient - not a good start.

Room size was okay, what we expected but nothing to write home about, but immediately noticed ants running all over the desk and mirror in the room. Couldn't see where they were coming from but needless to say, we made sure we didn't leave any food about.

The room was poorly equipped. For a hotel chain of this name I was not expecting to find a great big old CRT television complete with smashed remote held together with tape, but I did. Combine this with a broken floor lamp, wardrobes that had the microswitches for the internal lights frigged with coathanger wire to make them actuate when you closed the doors, and paper thin walls where you could make out each word of the television set next door, and it did not measure up too high on our "satisfied-o'tometer".

The breakfast was fine food wise, but a rather hurried affair. There was apparently some group arriving for a pow-wow session and we got the distinct feeling that they really wanted us out of there a.s.a.p so they could re-arrange the tables. Every time I sat my half drunk coffee cup down it was whisked away by some waitress who was practising stealth lurking in the background.

All in all, it was a real disappointment like the title suggests. Great great great location for shopping and BTS rail system, but unless I can have a Mercedes-Benz or a Porsche that I can park it right outside the door and block the main entrance with, like what the others do, or unless I can book a fancy top of the line room, then we will not be returning to this place I'm afraid.

Helpful tips?
1) Check in at 03:00hrs when there's no one else about.
2) Have breakfast at first light.
3) Let the Concierge take the luggage to and from your transport, so you don't actually scratch any Ferrari's yourself on the way past.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloozntooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#440 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hi Residence
#668 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#100 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $101 - $139
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing