We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for any occasion ”
Review of Jack's Bar

Jack's Bar
Ranked #295 of 12,890 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: This little place doesn't actually have an English name, we nicknamed it 'Jack's Bar'. It's in a tourist area (next door to Shangri-La Hotel) on the river.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great bar right on the water... literally it’s a dock. My husband and I went there for beers on our honeymoon to watch the boats cruising the river at sunset. Ended up staying so long that we ordered food and it was simple and delicious and cooked in an open air kitchen in the center. Met a big group of British/Irish and had a wonderful time laughing drinking and eating. The owner is funny and welcoming and the service was fast and no nonsense. Perfect breeze flows through and cools off the night. Friendly well cared for pups walk around looking for a belly scratch and then fall asleep at your feet. Huge Chang beers were 200 bhat, but by the time the Thai tequila came out courtesy of our new found friends... I wasn’t counting we’re going back again tonight!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Charliecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great little bar on the river in the hustle and bustle of boats coming in all directions, cheap beer and soft drinks so had to reply someone thinks 40 bt is too dear for a coke, where do they come from? Food is prepared in front of you and is tasty and authentic, wish thete were more places like this i thoroughly recommend a visit

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We decided to eat here after staying in the Shangri-La down the street. The food was pretty good but not great for the price. I had a honey drink that was delicious. It's a nice, casual (plastic chair) spot to sit and look out over the waterfront and enjoy a beer.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank msafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

At the end of the small road leading down to the Chao Phraya, Jack's Bar sits perched on some old wooden floorboards pushing into the river.

We were staying at the Peninsular Hotel, and decided to have a cheeky couple of beers before getting on the free ferry across to the hotel.

One led to two and then hunger took over, so we also ate. That wasn't the smartest thing we've ever done as the food was at best - very very average. Pad Thai is usually bullet proof, but they managed to make it terrible, almost un-edible.

Soft drinks were expensive, beer sort of okay.

Views of the river made up for all the faults, and even with the faults worth stopping in for a bit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 139nigelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Like many others was staying at the Shangri-La and made the two minute walk to Jacks.
Yes say on the plastic seats and watched the world go by with a few beers. It is what it is, cheap and basic. I got a liking for the LEO beer, which was cold and crisp.
Always a nice start to the evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Bolearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing