We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent, especially the service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 586 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially the service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were collected from the airport by a driver organsed by Karan at Focal Local, an easy start to the holiday. The accomodation was great couldnt be faulted. The advice was incredibly helpfull, would reccomend to anyone and are going back there on our way back to uk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We'll look forward to welcoming you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    52
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
213
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent two lovely nights at Focal Local and would absolutely recommend it. We've spent a lot of time in Thailand over the years; Focal Local exceeded our expectations on all accounts. After a long journey to Bangkok from Krabi, we were greeted with smiles and delicious iced tea. The room was beautifully decorated and had a rainfall shower (with a shower curtain!), very soft sheets with duvet, minifridge and TV, and a great AC unit. The bed in particularly was a nice feature after a few weeks in a much less comfortable setup in southern Thailand.

Karan is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and is clearly gifted in his ability to accommodate guests. Breakfast was great as well.

Focal Local is located in the Thonburi area, a bit off the beaten path but easily accessible by taxi, tuktuk, sky train, and ferry. We used all four over the three days we were there and did not find that the location was a problem. My husband is accustomed to staying in the Khaosan Road area and even he was happy to be in the more residential area where Focal Local is located. There are numerous food carts just up the street where we found delicious options.

Overall, Focal Local offers far more comfort and style than other hotels we've encountered in Thailand. Karan and his staff really seal the deal with their hospitality. We fully intend to return to Focal Local on our next trip to Bangkok and enthusiastically recommend it to our fellow travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoradoGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you very much. Your reveiw would definitelt helps other travellers get the pictures of Focal Local. It's our great appreciation being a little part to complete your trip in Thailand. We'll look forward to welcoming you again...All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Nice and safe place in urban area of town.
Nice unique designed aircon rooms.
Not far from the river boat station or skytrain. Hotel offers complimentary Tuktuk ride to reach skytrain or riverboat once a day.
Staff was extremly helpfull even in non standard situations (We had a small car accident).
Thai food for breakfast was delicious. If you want western stuff you can also get it as well.
When i go to Bangkok a second time i would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catiaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thanks a lot for your review. It's our pleasure having you as the guests here. We'll look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a relief, after a horrible day of travel, to be welcomed into such a great place. The rooms are very modern, well decorated and very clean and comfortable. I will actually be 'borrowing' some of their decorating ideas. The free Tuktuk service is very convenient given it is a little west of all the action. The breakfast is a nice meal to start you day off. The real 'Gem' of the place is Karen. I inquired about a tour to get my feeling for Bangkok. He phoned several places and then told me they were to expensive and he took a map and drew a tour for me. I had a wonderful day following his suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omoo2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you very much, We're glad to assist you getting the most of 1 day in Bangkok. Wish you could stay longer and see more of Bangkok next time...Have a safe journey! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Bangkok is a noisy congested city. Focal Local, although it's on a noisy street, makes it all wonderful. The staff and the breakfasts are both amazing! Karan was so helpful - suggesting activities and giving us explicit directions. The room was nice, the place is spotless, the Thai breakfasts were great, and the staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you so much. It was our pleasure having you as the guests here. Hope we'll have an opportunity to serve you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,205 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#2 of 586 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 586 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $68 - $74
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing