We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!”

The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: USD 15 - USD 90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Rain Tree Café has been conceived in a modern interpretation of Thai neo-colonial interior décor + style. Three separate but complementary spaces evidencing extreme elegance and making excellent use of natural light are interwoven with threads of touching homeliness. These three unique areas are cleverly interwoven and are aptly named: The Bronze Kitchen upgraded with interactive live cooking stations, The Valaya Room with its formal library-style "VIP" space and The Secret Garden for more private affairs. Enjoy an inspiring voyage of discovery on our stunning international buffet that also features five specialty dishes of the day from our specialist head chefs. Service for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch and Dessert Buffet.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We found this place through trip advisor. We don't usually go for buffet style dining but it had had such great reviews, we thought it was worth a try.....and i am soooooo glad we did. Where do i start. The Rain Tree cafe is huge, you could pick any table and still feel like you had the restaurant to yourself. The service was spotless, attentive and friendly. The food was amazing. I'd never experienced this quality and selection of food in a buffet before. We felt like kids in a candy shop. The european chefs frequently replenished the trays of food themselves, and would give advice on the food as we went around. We had an amazing evening. Any excuse to go back!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    136
    33
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

great food selection to include lobster crab caviar foie gras cooked on the grill. Great roast lamb and beef. free bottle champagne 3200 baht

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saltza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre to poor quality cooking.”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have tried out various restaurants in this Hotel as it was flying the "Plaza Athenee" flag, and I had incorrectly assumed that the food would be up to minimum French standards.

I discovered that neither the owners, nor the management of this Hotel are French,
which probably accounts for the fact that they don't know, how to even make a croissant nor
a baguette properly, their coffee is a disaster, with regards to the rest of the food it's mediocre at best.

The one thing that this Hotel is excellent at is overcharging.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe_Fornillo, Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear alavna

Thank you for sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor website following your visit at The Rain Tree Café.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

As tastes vary, we have to try and gauge which types of meals will be popular on any given occasion. We do pride ourselves on being able to accommodate our guests’ requirements and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and do hope that in time, you may reconsider your position and choose to dine with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Giuseppe Fornillo
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quite exceptional”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Bangkok is known for its vast array of great buffet lunches, and the Raintree at the Plaza Athenee is at the top of that lofty list. I've been twice now in the past month for the Sunday buffet and have been mightily impressed both times. Even decided to join the "Le Club Plaza" to take advantage of the generous discounts and vouchers. The food offered, both the selection and quality, is very impressive, as is the inclusive cocktail bar and free-flow wine choice. Fresh oysters from France, the amazing array of sushi, salmon, prawns, grilled lobster and caviar bar, the well prepared meat, the cheese and the desserts all add up to a memorable dining experience. Also, even by the very high Bangkok standards, the service and personal attention (even for buffet style dining) is exceptional.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Genius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the Best Buffets I've Had”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and had a memorable dining experience. Rarely does one get such high quality of food in a buffet format. My personal favorites were the Foie gras and Salmon fillet.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliSaigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing