We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok”
Review of Bo.Lan

Bo.Lan
Ranked #1,039 of 14,874 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: AU$134 - AU$150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Thong Lo
Description: Bo.lan is founded on the belief that the best Thai restaurants should be found In Thailand. With that in mind the two chefs Duangporn Songvisava and Dylan Jones started Bo.lan. The name Bo.lan comes from Chef Duangporn’s nickname Bo and the second half of Dylan’s name Lan. It is also a play on the Thai word for vintage or ancient, which sounds the same but is spelt differently. Bo.lan prides itself for working closely with local farmers and feels that it has a social responsibility to the local community. Bo.lan advocates the use of biodiversified produce and this is reflected in the ever-changing menu.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

An excellent night. Considering short notice the degustation 7 course menu was awesome. Plus, a matching vegan degustation.
Service could not be faulted. Every detail was attended to. From the first course with the Chef in the kitchen all the way through to the desert, including a vegan variety.
Happy days all around.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank JackNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 231 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

This restaurant I tried as I saw the documentary of Andrew Zimmern while he was in BKK ( I hope I didn't mix this up now with Anthony Bourdain). And I have to admit it didn't disappoint at all.

It is a very interesting menu and you should try all the dishes you wouldn't find elsewhere. The kitchen team does an excellent job to deliver amazing flavors and wow dishes in all aspects.

Would always go back to his great venue .

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank GCL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Overall I think it was a very nice, unique experience but I definitely wasn't blown away. I guess what happens when places are so hyped-up is that expectations are perhaps unrealistically high. I thought the venue was nice, but certainly not that different from other restaurants situated in Thai houses. I'd say the food is good, if you're looking for something different from your classic, traditional Thai food. (For my friends that wasn't the case and so they were disappointed). The closest comparison I can make would be nouvelle cuisine, Thai style. Expect to spend approx. USD 100-120 per person including a bottle of average wine, which is high for Bangkok standard, where you can get amazing food for less than USD 50. I'm glad I tried it after everything I've read, but probably not an experience I need to repeat.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

First you experience a very warm welcome from the owner in a very pleasant environment....then you are served a series of overall disappointing dishes with very little substance by unexperienced staff .....after that you end up being heavingly overcharged......we thought it a real scam.

Date of visit: June 2016
5  Thank TheShopManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I took my friend from oversea to experience Thai food in fine-dining style here and I really like how the restaurant invited us to have the first course in the kitchen, which I had never done in any fine-dining restaurant. The food was very good with high quality of ingredients. However, when comparing to the price I pay, I expected more than this! Maybe, I had very high expectation since this restaurant was voted one of the Top50 Asia Best Restaurant. The service was inconsistent, staffs were super attentive but one of them was not at all. She seemed to be very rush when explaining each dishes and seemed to ignore what we asked for.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bankponpisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bo.Lan also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Bo.Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.