We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return”
Review of Baan Dinso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Dinso Hostel
Ranked #23 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I will return”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was scary the first time walking down the alley after midnight to get there..but...it is an oasis in a very busy polluted city
The staff was great, bedrooms clean, breakfast was well presented and its was a very short($2) taxi ride to many tourist locations..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazebo8528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    69
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
120
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sisak, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

it was our first time in bangkok so we wanted to have a good start, and we did. this place is real oasis in the busy environment. it is 10-15 minutes walking from many attraction, also close it has some really good restaurant.
building is really nice renovated, so the whole place is really charming, and very very clean. rooms are quite spacious, we had bathroom in a room, but also showers downstairs are very nice and clean. also every day you get fresh bottles of water in the room, and fruit is free all day to eat. also it has fast wi-fi which was very important to us.
the stuff is very helpful and frendly, so we felt like at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gekoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at Baan Dinso for a couple of days on the strength of tripadvisor reviews and wasn't let down. You know your on to a good thing when there are awards for world's best hostel lying around.

But "hostel" is a pretty loose term for this place. It's in a lovely old timber house, the rooms are really nice with all the comforts and the staff are beyond nice. I had a 8pm train to catch the day I checked out and they quite happily offered to let me hang around, surf the net, then take a shower before catching my train.

Location is also good, you are about 10 mins walk from Khao San, 20 mins to the palace. There isn't a metro nearby and only a couple of places to eat nearby though. One apparently is one of the best restaurants in BKK but I wasn't convinced. Overall I don't think I would stay anywhere else when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Small, quiet, boutique-y little spot that is close to main attractions in Bangkok. Very charming rooms. Print the map and keep it with you-- but know that the map they provide you on the web site to get there is a little backwards, just know that the place is BEHIND 7-Eleven. I arrived at 2am and walking around with all my stuff was a bit of a cramp. But other than that, no complaints. Really adorable. It is pretty expensive compared to other locations in Bangkok- as Thailand is very cheap- but you can get a good deal on Agoda; also, it depends on the experience you are going for.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misseserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Excellent sanctuary in the middle of the city, wonderful place to start a trip and ease your way into a wonderful country. They were even kind enough to offer me a shower before I flew home when I happened to be in Bangkok again later in my trip. Really outstanding, super clean and calm.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidhi A, Manager at Baan Dinso Hostel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Josh,

Thank you very much for your review!
Hopefully I will have an opportunity to visit you in the future.
Have a great new year :)

Nidhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Dinso @ Ratchadamnoen
Baan Dinso @ Ratchadamnoen
#60 of 670 in Bangkok
99 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 670 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Kachitpan
Baan Kachitpan
#109 of 1,244 in Bangkok
20 reviews
Banglamphu
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
Banglamphu
d Hostel Bangkok
d Hostel Bangkok
#52 of 1,244 in Bangkok
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Dinso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Dinso Hostel

Property: Baan Dinso Hostel
Address: 113 Trok Sin, Dinso Rd. | Borvornnivate, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price range (per night): $61 - $99
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Dinso Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baan Dinso: Bangkok's beige beauty! 10-minute walk from Khao San Road, Baan Dinso invites guests with beige walls, original copper fittings and endearingly creaky teakwood floors fill this dainty former nobleman's house, the nine rooms with cable TV, snug beds and floral curtains. Unlike most hostels in the vicinity, the service is sweet, staff use your first name, a hearty American breakfast is served on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Baan Dinso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Dinso Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing