We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and enjoyable hotel”
Review of Ambience Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambience Hotel
Ranked #7 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“good value and enjoyable hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very helpful and obliging staff (example: I complained to have cold: in the evening I had a heater in my room. Other example: I lost my iphone: the hotel staff phoned around for me and help me to find it. (I got it back))
Very tasteful furnishings
Enjoyable middle size of the hotel (no mass processing, but nevertheless every need is fully covered).
Nice breakfast buffet.
The cleanest hotel I have ever been. (I'm from Switzerland, I'm used to a high standard of cleanlyness).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabulousDD, General Manager at Ambience Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Ursula,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow TripAdvisor viewers and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to provide professional and exceptional services to our guests, therefore your recognition of our service standard serves as such a great encouragement to all of us. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you in the near future!

Best regards,
Diana Dai
Deputy General Manager
Ambience Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    332
    55
    10
    4
See reviews for
287
455
189
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ambience is by no means a bad hotel, borderline between 3/4 stars. The Good: Place is clean, lobby is cool, modern art feel but not pretentious. Trendy, young boutique hotel feel. Breakfast is very good. Nice place for a couple to stay for a night or two, better for couples than families. Nice big bathtub, good comfortable bathrooms with ample space, shower, nice soap/lotion/etc provided. Good stereo in room. The not so good: Guest floors all have a pungent smell of cleaning fluid. Can get overwhelming. Desk chair is plastic and uncomfortable. Room is a bit cramped. Rooms have a bit of a girlie feel to them/design in the rooms is a little cutesy. Cramped, can hear others adjacent rooms. Overall not a bad stay, if you can get a special rate or promotion its well worth it but at standard room rates there are better options.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabulousDD, General Manager at Ambience Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback with fellow TripAdvisor viewers. I apologize for any discomfort caused due to the Philippe Starck chair in the guest room, and please be informed that we can arrange a softer desk chair for you if you can inform us in advance for your next stay.

Have a nice day, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Diana Dai
Deputy General Manager
Ambience Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of the Chinese New Year holiday. We were given an upgrade on arrival and were very pleased with the room. The weather outside was miserable-cold and wet, but we were very content to spent some of our time in the room/hotel. When we did get out to explore and enjoy the city, the location of the hotel made it easy and quick to get around. The breakfast at the hotel was pretty decent with a good selection of Asian/Western cuisine. The staff were very friendly. Am very happy with the Ambience Hotel and will book again next time I come to Taipei.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabulousDD, General Manager at Ambience Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Chinese New Year. Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow TripAdvisor viewers, and I certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to Taipei!

Best regards,
Diana Dai
Deputy General Manager
Ambience Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hotel is small with clean room and nice bathroom. Decor was chic but a little cold for me.The flyover in front of the hotel gave some chaos feeling. Could not control the temperature in the room and the staff brought up a heater instead. Breakfast area was too small and there was always a queue. Not near subway station but plenty of taxi outside the hotel. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabulousDD, General Manager at Ambience Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for providing your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. I apologize for any discomfort caused due to the room temperature and over-crowded breakfast area during your stay, and please rest assured that I will try to improve the situation as soon as possible.

Have a nice day and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Diana Dai
Deputy General Manager
Ambience Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel was recommended in the NY TImes and the Trip Advisor reviews were very good, so we stayed there for six nights in late December. It was truly a great place! We booked the least expensive type of room and would gladly have remained in it throughout our visit, but there was a screaming baby in the next room as of our second night and the hotel staff actually approached *us* re: their concern for our sleep. The hotel was nearly fully-booked, so their only option was to move us to a much larger (meaning, pricier) room (the next day) - and it was on the top floor (11th vs. 5th) and it was a corner room (with a good view vs. none). In case you're interested, it was room #1107.

The hotel opened in 2006 and it's very modernistic. My only quibble is that there was nowhere to hang towels (and yet there was certainly enough space in the bathrooms) and the sinks had virtually NO counter space (again, there was enough space for that). However; nice shampoo/etc. products were provided and everything was very sleek, plus the room and the entire hotel were SPOTLESS.

The staff were all SUPERB and I truly can't remember a more wonderful hotel staff (and we've traveled all over the world). They constantly "went the extra mile" and couldn't have been more helpful or more pleasant. Some of them were quite endearing; really sweet-natured.

Breakfast is included in the price and it was absolutely the best hotel breakfast we've ever had. It was a buffet and the number of foods plus the taste was *great*! We really loved those breakfasts - and they were so filling that we never needed to eat lunch (breakfast is served from 7-10 a.m. and we tended to get down there at about 8:30 a.m.). Also, their coffee was really good and they had fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice. There was even a (different) *soup* every day, plus lots of other tasty foods.

All-told, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel - and I only wish that most of the other hotels we've stayed at were nearly as wonderful!

Room Tip: (See my comments re: room #1107).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethesda14610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabulousDD, General Manager at Ambience Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ambience Hotel Taipei. I am very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we surely look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Taipei!

Best regards,
Diana Dai
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.1 km away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#37 of 576 in Taipei
3,254 reviews
1.7 km away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
2.6 km away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 576 in Taipei
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
CityInn Hotel - Taipei Station Branch II
2.0 km away
Cityinn Hotel Plus - Fuxing N. Rd., Branch
1.5 km away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#20 of 576 in Taipei
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Hotel

Property: Ambience Hotel
Address: No.64 Section 1, Chang'an East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Price range (per night): $44 - $173
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambience Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most anticipated project combining the visionary talents of famous Taiwanese architect Wei Ming Lee and designer Ted Su, led by an ambitious and dynamic team of hospitality professionals, Ambience Hotel is the first offbeat and contemporary boutique hotel designed to breathe style and excitement into Taiwan's capital city. Ambience Hotel's 60 avant-garde guestrooms and suites feature a unique decor blend of polished steel, glass, white granite and calf-skin leather upholstery. Completed with free high speed wireless internet access, Video-on-Demand movie system, and luxurious Botanicus bath and body products, Ambience Hotel provides the service and amenities of a luxury hotel within a strikingly modern yet intimate environment. Combining comfort, functionality, and cutting edge design, Ambience Hotel is the ideal place to stay for business and pleasure in Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambience Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing