We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Happiness Inn Ximen
Ranked #140 of 263 Taipei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Though the hotel is strategically located in the heart of Ximending, that's the only best and positive thing about Happiness Inn. Of course, the cost of stay is also generally lower compared to others in the area, but with the price... actually there are a lot more options to select from!

The room smells horrible, with cigarette smell everywhere. Toilet is horrible, with yellow stain everywhere!

To me, this hotel looks more like a hourly rental hotel...

The staff are generally very friendly and helpful. But, that does not give any extra point to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Epchandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We stay here for 2 night..1st day we stay my skin feel itch..i thought only my bed but my 2 friend room also feel itch in the bed.the bedroom are transparent and cannot close properly..the breakfast quite nice.if u need to go ximending need to walk about 5-8 minute.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank wendy882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The hotel is not well maintained after my 4th annual visit to Taipei.

Smoky smell in a non-smoking room, bathroom is not cleaned properly, dusty room (was constantly sneezy when i was in the room).

It used to be a real value for money deal as its conveniently located in the middle of Ximending.

Not that bad if you're left with no choices to stay in Ximending.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheecheng k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days and 5 nights. When we just checked in, we found out some insects on our bed, bathroom, wall, floor. It was so disgusting . Then, we approached to the staff, they offered us another room which was nearer to the lobby.
The first night, we found out there were some tiny cockroaches in our room!!!! Besides, as the room was near to the lobby that other guests can enjoy their food and watch tv, it was very noisy , even it was 12am ++.
Highly not recommended to stay at this hotel! The price didn't worth for it though it was a great location.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank littlestar8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

We first got a room which stinks. No windows and very damp smell and it was located right in front of a common area where guests gathered and chit chat. It was so loud and smelly. Felt really uncomfortable and requested for a change of room. The staffs are friendly enough to give us a new room at the second floor. Luckily! The second room was WAY BETTER!

I will sum up a few points for this stay:

Pros:
1. Strategic location. In the middle of the streets.
2. Friendly staffs.
3. Breakfast are provided at another restaurant nearby which are quite tasty.
4. Bed and pillows are super comfy.

Cons:
1. If you are taking rooms at ground floor, it will be noisy. Super noisy.
2. Rooms are quite packed.

Overall, it was quite a happy stay. Do request for rooms above ground floor for a more comfortable stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank JanetWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Swiio Hotel
#25 of 585 in Taipei
735 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 585 in Taipei
2,689 reviews
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#67 of 585 in Taipei
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
#68 of 585 in Taipei
715 reviews
Meander Taipei Hostel
#1 of 283 in Taipei
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happiness Inn Ximen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happiness Inn Ximen

Address: NO. 26, Lane 55, Neijang St, Wanhua Dist | No.66 Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 263 B&Bs / Inns in Taipei
Price Range: $61 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happiness Inn Ximen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Happiness Inn Ximen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing