We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, modern, friendly, clean in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Ranked #67 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is well-located in one of the most popular and lively districts with plenty of shops and fairly close access to the metro. The staff is personable and our corner room on the 7th floor had a big window looking on to all the activity below. (Note: not all rooms have great views, so if it is important to you, check ahead. The bed was huge. The rooms are somewhat sparsely furnished with an urban/industrial chic, but quite comfortable and clean.

A great Breakfast with some variations on each of our three days that had something for everyone, whether you are looking for something traditionally Chinese, Japanese (sometimes Korean) or a western breakfast. Fresh fruit options are always available, as well as ample salad items and breads and cereals.

We took advantage of the nearby bike-share stations one block away and tooled around the city very early in the morning before the heat and the ferocious traffic make it uncomfortable and unsafe for biking (at least in the summer.)

Room Tip: Corner rooms may have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dccolhgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia Y, Hotel Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your experience with us.

Your compliment will definitely be passed along to our staff who will be much honored.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Yours sincerely,
Patricia Yuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is a great hotel and quite affordable. Don't expect super wow interiors or exteriors but it has definitely enough to make your stay pleasant and "force" you to write a great review. The location is fantastic, five minutes walk from Ximen station, in the middle of shopping streets. The reception super helpful and polite; they speak English fluently as well. The room spacious enough, clean and very functional. If I were to come to Taipei, being risk averse, I would stay at the very same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia Y, Hotel Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and sharing your amba experience with us.

It is a genuine happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. Your kind words toward our helpful staff and good location are absolutely the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team for us to keep on advancing and moving forward.

The amba team will always look forward to welcoming you whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Yours Sincerely,
Patricia Yuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

It was the last stay in our 8 day trip in Taiwan! We all were so satisfying of it!

Being very good location in Taipei, the rooms of it were so spacious besides being so clean! The bathroom and toilet were separated and such design was good for group of travelers!

Service of staff was not so great but also they were very young! What the energetic they were! Meanwhile they were very passionate and nice to clients!

As to the breakfast, no matter the variety was so adequate and the taste was great too! I loved the "Chinese sticky rice roll" much, which was much better than that in restaurant! Also the waffle was the best among that in other hotels stayed before and the honey for waffle was naturally made, so its taste was very fresh!

The price/performance ratio is so good!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank moonlyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia Y, Hotel Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and sharing your amba experience with us.

It is a genuine happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. Your kind words toward our good location, comfortable room and nice food are absolutely the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team for us to keep on advancing and moving forward.

The amba team will always look forward to welcoming you whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Yours Sincerely,
Patricia Yuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The hotel staff is what make amba XIMENDING a 5-star rating! On my last night in Taipei, I lost my passport and informed the hotel staff team at the lobby. Ray Lin, the hotel manager at the lobby that evening, did everything he could to assist me. As a non-Mandarin speaker, I was helped through the rigorous process of searching for and reporting a lost passport by the hotel's amazing staff -- who not only translated on my behalf but also walked me personally to the nearest police station AND to the restaurant where I dined earlier that night. With his help, I was able to find my passport and make my flight home the following morning! It was a stressful situation for me, but one made SO much better because my experience with compassionate, considerate, and always-ready-to-help staff members.

The hotel itself is modern, hip, and perfect for a city experience. The MRT is a short walk of about 2-3 city blocks filled with shops and restaurants in between. Ximending is much less touristy than the Taipei 101 area, and for that reason, it's better for adventuring and having the feeling like you're a local.

The accommodations were good too! The hotel lobby provides currency exchange services, so you can easily change money and go shopping downstairs. The room had big comfy beds (we had 2 beds in our room) and plenty of space for our luggage. The bathroom had spacious counters, AWESOME shower pressure, and provided amenities like shampoo, conditioner, soap, and even flip flops for you to keep! Pleasant experience altogether :)

Overall, I'd recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia Y, Hotel Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and sharing your amba experience with us.
It is a genuine happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us.
Your commendation of the exemplary hospitality provided by our warm and thoughtful colleagues will be shared with them as it will be a great motivation for them to continuously strive for service excellence.

The amba team will always look forward to welcoming you whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Yours Sincerely,
Patricia Yuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Great location, great food choices and fun night market right at the door, close to MRT station. The hotel has comfortable bed, right-size room for solo traveler and very helpful staffs, that will give their best to help. Definitely recommended for solo travelers!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dja2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia Y, Hotel Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and sharing your amba experience with us.

It is a genuine happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. Your kind words toward our warm staff, nice food are absolutely the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team for us to keep on advancing and moving forward.

The amba team will always look forward to welcoming you whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Yours Sincerely,
Patricia Yuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 km away
WESTGATE Hotel
WESTGATE Hotel
#49 of 587 in Taipei
1,424 reviews
0.1 km away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#26 of 587 in Taipei
747 reviews
0.4 km away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#15 of 587 in Taipei
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#40 of 587 in Taipei
523 reviews
7.6 km away
amba Taipei Songshan
amba Taipei Songshan
#66 of 587 in Taipei
269 reviews
2.1 km away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#75 of 587 in Taipei
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 77 Section 2 Wuchang Street, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: AU$139 - AU$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba Taipei Ximending is located in the heart of trendy Ximending shopping and entertainment area in Western Taipei, just five minutes’ walk to the Taipei Metro Ximen Station, one metro stop from the Taipei Main Station for high-speed rail, and only 20 minutes’ drive to Taipei 101. Nominated as one of the best hotel openings by Wallpaper* magazine in 2012, amba Taipei Ximending occupies levels 5 to 10 of the fashionable Eslite shopping complex on Wuchang Street, junction of Kunming Street. This hip, eco-friendly hotel features free high-speed WiFi access hotel-wide, 160 contemporary guestrooms with separate rain shower, and free use of a self-service laundry room. Extra large rooms, loft rooms and balcony rooms can accommodate up to four adults, ideal for friends and family to share. Dining options include chiba – an international all day restaurant for fun dining, tingba - a retro chic music lounge, and tianba – a bakery with an alfresco courtyard. Best of all, there are many locally inspired fun elements awaiting for your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing