We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Such a good Dal Baht

Great cooking course with the lovely Yang Chen. We made Dal Baht with all the great sides; rice... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2018
jakobs49
via mobile
Great time learning how to make Dal Bhat!

Yang Chen, our host, was very kind and we enjoyed learning how to make Dal Bhat in her kitchen. Her... read more

Reviewed 24 June 2018
w0rldtravelercw
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
36
5
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
5
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews momo making learning how dal baht tibetan refugee chicken momos shapes session settlement culture interactive instructor nepal activity
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

We did back-to-back cooking classes, first dhal baht and then timo, with Ms. Yang Chen in the Tibetan refugee settlement. While the food was fun to make and tasted delicious, best of all was the intimate setting and genuine interaction inside Ms. Chen's home kitchen within the settlement.

I much preferred this personal and educational component compared to the commercial cooking classes I've taken in Asia. Most interesting was learning from Ms. Chen, our facilitator Dawa, and their families' experiences as stateless Tibetan refugees. We also appreciated that during our break between cooking sessions, Dawa invited us inside her home where her mother generously prepared us yak butter tea upon our special request and took us to her nearby craft stall.

Go with Backstreet Academy to get off the commercial-feeling tourist circuit to experience real interaction with and unique learning from locals!

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank ehrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We’ve booked this class because we enjoyed Nepali food so much, we wanted know how to prepare it back home.
We were picked up from the Devi’s falls entry by an extremely friendly lad, who stayed with us for the whole class translating, teaching Tibetan history and culture as well as entertaining. The cooking took place in a normal kitchen in his aunt’s house in the so-called Tibetian refugee camp, which is the cleanest settlement I’ve seen in Nepal. His aunt explained step by step how momos are prepared and let us do it as well, really fool proof. Was cool to eat what we made as well. Overall a very cool experience.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Leonie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I've been meaning to review Backstreet Academy for ages!! We've actually done 3 courses with them: Sel Roti making, basket-weaving and sari-wearing. Every course has been absolutely fantastic! They're incredibly well-organised and the amazing Nepali women who invite you into their homes have so much experience to share! Highly recommended and we'll definitely be trying another course soon!!!

Date of experience: November 2014
4  Thank Travel-B00M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeep S, Manager at Backstreet Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Namaste Travel Boom,

Thank you for taking out time to review us.

It was our pleasure hosting you for three different courses during your stay in Pokhara. We have recently also conveyed your warm words to all of them and they've all asked us to send their regards your way. We sure hope you will be tying your own sarees by now. :)

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I totally enjoyed the Timo making course. Our host Tsering was so passionate about showing us how to make Timo.
We had eaten these steamed delight near the lake side restaurant and wanted to learn how to make them and as soon as we googled we found about Backstreet academy and we did a course with them.
We found about their social causes too, so we would recommend any one to go there and learn something new and exciting from a local at the local's house. We will definitely go there on uur next visit to Nepal..lovely place.

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeep S, Manager at Backstreet Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Hi Joe,

Thank you for sparing time to write such wonderful review about us and it’s always heartening for us to know when our guests have thoroughly enjoyed themselves while taking one of our many courses.

Similar to your story about first eating the Timo then learning how to make them, we too were quite intrigued with how the Tibetan community made these wonderful delights and luckily we discovered Tsering when researching for courses in Pokhara. :)

We hope that you got a chance to learn not only the skills to make Timo’s but also learn about the lifestyle of people who live in Nepal.

Safe journey and do look us up if you’re in another city with Backstreet Academy. :)

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

After having finished my trek in the Annapurna Circuit, I decided to stay on in Pokhara for a few days. I really wanted to get as much chance as possible to interact with the locals and was looking for things to do on Tripadvisor. I came across Backstreet Academy and knew immediately that this was going to be the perfect platform for me to meet locals and I immediately signed up for one of their course.

The course I learnt was Animal Sculpture from Mim Bahadur. If there's one thing I am certain of after the course, it's this, Mim is super passionate about his craft and you can feel this when his guiding you throughout the entire course. I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Mim and would recommend anyone who is in Pokhara to sign up for one of the activities at Backstreet Academy. Thanks guys

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank Vikram Singh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeep S, Manager at Backstreet Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Hi Vikram,

It’s always heartening to hear from travellers how much they liked our country not just for the natural beauty but also the people who live here. Firstly, hats off on completing the Annapurna Circuit, we know that as much as you’re rewarded with amazing views it is equally strenuous on the physique.

When we first came across Mim too, the manner in which he spoke about his craft gave us the immediate impression that ‘here’s someone super-passionate about his craft’, and we just knew we had to let other travellers try making animal sculptures from him too. And when we get travellers like you who thoroughly enjoy themselves with Mim, we’re encouraged to look for more craftsmen like him in Pokhara.

We would like to thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely review about us. Hope to see you again in a different city :).

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews