We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I am on my trip in Nepal. I had my wonderful hotel in Pokhara. The location is so good that everything is very nearby. Close to the lake. The garden was wonderful. Views were so nice that we could have great views from window. Their services were so nice that I could recommend everyone. Peoples are great and service oriented. I would rate this as 4 stars. I would thankful to all staffs who helped me a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tao K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for The Lakeside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

After completing the Annapurna Circuit Trek Part 1, our family rested and relaxed at Base Camp Resort which was located off the main street in Pokhara. It was clean, quiet, and beautifully landscaped, The flowers were in bloom and there was fruit on the trees. The receptionists were friendly and helpful, especially Shyam Pradhan. He helped us plan activities like paragliding, boating, and a later trip to Chitwan National Park. There is a great roof top viewing place and the views were excellent right out our window. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Upstairs provides great views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

There is an unpaved road that passes some construction to get here, but the grounds are beautiful. The rooms at first glance are spacious and luxurious - though this was after 10 days of trekking, so anything with concrete walls and a private bathroom would have looked good.
The bathroom was fine, the fridge and TV a luxury... but the bed, was the most firm and definitely more uncomfortable than anything we had had while on the trek in simple tea houses.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheresheroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Recently spent 4 nights , in 2 two day stays a week apart. The Hotel is a little bit off the beat and track with an unpaved roadway into it that they should fix. We had 2 first floor rooms which were spacious and well appointed. The Bathrooms while functional need a proper clean. Shower curtins can go in washing machines as well! The staff while helpful were not over firendly and certainly did not go the extra mile like other hotels we stayed at in Nepal. The big plus of the base camp hotel is the garden, very relaxing and welll kept. Overall if the staff just took a little more interest, this could be a very good hotel, but not quite there yet.

Room Tip: while there is no lifts a room on the top floor could provide a great view of the mountains on a cle...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Base Camp Resort is good valued hotel in Pokhara. The hotel has beautiful garden and tasty restaurant too. Good valued for price and clean with friendly staffs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EightBelow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 km away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 105 in Pokhara
300 reviews
0.0 km away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
0.3 km away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
657 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
#10 of 105 in Pokhara
493 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
#55 of 105 in Pokhara
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Retreat

Address: 6 Lake Side | P.O. Box 495, Pokhara 33411, Nepal (Formerly Base Camp Resort)
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakeside Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Retreat Pokhara is an ideal space for peace and relaxation just a short walk from the banks of Phewa lake. Perfect for a business trip or lakeside escape, our plush accommodations and casual sophistication offer more than enough reasons to unwind. The Lakeside Retreats guest rooms and suites feature their own personal access and garden side terrace. Every room features air conditioning, satellite TV, tea/coffee facility, WiFi and security lockers.You'll appreciate our discretion - from the exceptional furnishings, spa-inspired baths, copious natural lighting and feather-soft beds - every sumptuous detail will satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing