We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
320
164
21
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
164
21
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolaustralian embassyrooftop barexcellent facilitiesexcellent hotela short taxi ridemy home away from homering roadtop floorfront officerestaurant staffbreakfast spreadindian foodbusy kathmanduclean hotelcouple of nightscomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Really enjoyed our stay here after our crazy trekking experience in Nepal. The staff were very helpful and provided us with information when we were trying to find a orphanage we wanted to visit nearby. They also did our laundry as an express service within a few hours as we had a flight to catch the following morning. Breakfast was pretty good and rooftop pool area was also very nice. Overall enjoyable stay and the location was also not too far from Thamel which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank snapple999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshtm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Snapple 999,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review ,it was truly our honor and pleasure to have you in our prominent property. We are delighted to know that you had comfortable stay and enjoyed your stay with us also at the same time we believe you might have enjoyed your trekking although it might be crazy and adventures.
It is our pleasure to help our valuable guest to provide them all the necessary information and other relevant. We feel honor to make them comfort and provide them best services accordingly.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the breakfast which we will serve buffet in our coffee shop. There will be the spread of different type of food and also glad to know you sounds you enjoyed in our infinity swimming pool. Which is very famous, from where you can have splendid view of the Valley and the mountains. The ambience of our cloud 9 lounge makes more charm in to it where you can enjoy with mouth watered sumptuous snacks and drinks. You are very true and we agree that we are not far from Thamel (Centre) and very easy access.
Once again thank you very much for choosing us and would like to see you in near future and would like to have that privilege.

Warm regards,
Umesh Thapa Magar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Walking down the Bansbari Road, passing run-down buildings in Kathmandu city, you are in for a pleasant surprise as the Shambala comes into your sight. It's new and well-maintained and really doesn't fit into the surroundings with the dilapidated / run-down buildings.
Walking into the small but cozy lobby, you are welcomed by the pleasant and efficient front office staff who would settle you down fast, into comfortable rooms with either a mountain view or the city view. Rooms are very good, spacious and clean, with bathroom with shower/bath, TV, tea/coffee and the basics that you require for a comfortable stay.
There is small but fabulous infinity pool, overlooking the mountains in the distance at the rooftop level, with the adjoining pool. It's an awesome set-up and has a very romantic ambience at night. (Which unfortunately wasn't that useful for 3 guys on a rushed business trip).
If you are on B/B, the breakfast is served at the small restaurant on the ground-floor where reasonably decent spread is available for you, well attended by the friendly staff.
All in all, Shambala is a lovely hotel, clean, well maintained, great staff, comfortable rooms, good restaurants, pool and a spa (which again I cannot comment on), and definitely value for money. If

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Aruna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshtm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Aruna P.

Thank you so very much for choosing our prominent property and very glad to know that you were comfortable with us while you stay. We appreciate for your wonderful comments and feedback and it is very essential for us.
The hotel is purely Tibetan boutique hotel all the attires and the décor are completely in authentic Tibetan design. All the rooms that we have are either city facing or the mountain facing and are spacious with all modern amenities to facilitate our honorable guest. We agree with you the ambience of the evening is more beautiful and charming in our Cloud 9 lounge and the infinity swimming pool. You also can have panoramic view of the mountains and you can have a beautiful scenic view of entire Kathmandu valley. Where you can relax and chill out with your friends and family with drinks and the mouth watering snacks.
We serve daily buffet breakfast and keeping in mind of our guest there will be the selection of food (all mix).Also you can find all type of cuisine in same restaurant and perhaps you can enjoy your lunch and dinner and have exclusive experience in our erma café.
Well, we feel like we are rewarded with your beautiful comments and thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We believe we will have opportunity again to have you in near future and would like to have that privilege again.

Warm regards,
Umesh Thapa Magar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Excellent hotel, comfortable rooms, friendly staff (special mention to Aastha, a waiter at the hotel restaurant). The restaurant offers a reasonably wide selection of both asian and western dishes. The rooftop bar and swimming pool are very good. Also, since we had our return flight late in the evening, they offered us complimentary late checkout, which was greatly appreciated.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Edoardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshtm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Mr. Edoardo P.

Very warm greetings and namaste from hotel Shambala !!!

Dear sir,thank you so very much for your wonderful review and we are very delighted to know that you were comfortable with our services, accommodation and with the other facilities.
Astha is young ,hard working and ambitious girl in fact we have very young team and are very dynamic. Erma cafe which is our multi cuisine restaurant where you can find all type of cuisine and have selection of different variety of the food like Asian and western, where you can dine with us and enjoy with lavish food.Infinity swimming pool that we have is very famous and you can have splendid view of the kathmandu valley with panoramic mountain view.Indeed it was our pleasure to arrange you late checkout....well,sir we would like to see you in near future very soon till then take care....

warm regards,

Umesh Thapa Magar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

this is a relatively new hotel with all modern amenties , i was traveling alone and chose to stay at this hotel the staff and their hospitality was commendable. this is the only hotel in city with a rooftop pool where you can relax and enjoy city view!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nidhikhuranagupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshtm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Ms.Khurana Gupta ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and it was our pleasure and honor to have you in Shambala. We are very delighted to know that you had comfortable stay and also like the service and the staff.Also thank you for mentioning about the infinity pool that we have which is in rooftop (8th floor).It is true as we can view entire city of kathmandu and the panoramic view of the mountains makes you feel very relax and chill.

Well,thank you very much for choosing shambala and we would like to have you in near future and would like to take the privilege again.

warm regards,

Umesh Thapa Magar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I stayed two weeks with Hotel Shambala hotel in Bansbari, Kathmandu 09 to 23 September 2015.
My overall experience is good. Location is in Bansbari, northern part of Kathmandu, some 7-800 up the road from US embassy, a more ‘airy’ and tranquil location than busy Thamel. Hotel Shambala is fairly new, and seems properly maintained. Though the single glass windows, and basic frame, do not give much sound protection from the busy street below. Said that, the city go in to slumber between 22:00 and 06:00, almost like there is a curfew implanted, so a good night sleep is fairly obtainable! The bed and mattress is of premium quality! A minibar/fridge in the rooms and a list of pre-programed TV-channels would have been beneficiary.
The roof-top on ninth floor, have a swimming pool, and a splendid view of the city. ‘Cloud Nine’, the coffee-bar on the roof-top, is supposed to close 22:00, though when go there around 21:30, the staff has already prepared closing, by remove cushions from the chairs/sofas outdoor, and packed away drinks and alike! With the view and ambience on the rooftop, ‘cloud nine’ should be kept open for serving to at least 23:00.
Overall experience is good, and I have no problem to recommend this hotel in Kathmandu. If you are looking for more direct access to night-life during your stay, a hotel in Thamel is more advisable, e.g. Hotel Dalai-la, which is similar price range as Hotel Shambala (but without a pool).

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Kjetil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshtm, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Kjetil B.

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review and we really appreciate for your comments and the feedback. Which is really very important for us. As we are new it is very essential for us to have such kind of feedback and comments to improve in our quality and other relevant services.
We are very delighted to know that you are happy with the service and our main concern is our guest comfort therefore we always try to facilitate with more features and with modern amenities.
Well, the infinity pool we have is very popular and from there you can have marvelous view of the city. The view can be cover almost entire Kathmandu city. Cloud 9 lounge is very cozy and the pool side have got really good ambience where our guest can chill and relax with friends and family with sumptuous snacks and drinks and can have splendid time. We also realize that we need to extend the closing hours of the coffee bar/cloud 9 upstairs which is situated in 8th floor. But, of course if there is any guest we certainly open till late, only if there is no guest or if it’s quiet during our opening hours then we will close in our standard time.
We situated little bit off from the main downtown, but not so far also hardly 10 minutes away still it’s very easy to find a cab and very easy access but then to escape from all that hustle and bustle of the city we could be the best place in town.
Well, once again we would like to thank you so very much for your review and we wish to have you here in our prominent property in near future. We strongly believe that we will have that opportunity and privilege in upcoming days…also.

Warm regards,
Umesh Thapa Magar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews