We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper coffee and great food ”

Black Olives Cafe and Bar
Ranked #41 of 990 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

They served great proper coffee which got me in the door! Everything we had was good. Nice curries and western food. Quite a good selection of wines too. Such lovely staff who are genuinely happy to serve you. We visited three times in our short stay in Kathmandu

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TCCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We tried their momo and fried rice. I didn't like the momo too much but fried rice was good though it was little bit salty.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sangaywangmo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

The food was ok but it was really unpleasant having the chef take his break and sit on some steps in the beer garden near me and constantly hoiking up phlegm. It's a habit common with Asian men from China, Korea, India and now I see Nepalese too. They do not seem to realise how repulsive it is to Westerners. To have the chef do it a lot as I ate the meal he probably prepared was disgusting.
The servers also ignored us a lot and were keenly focused on the Fifa World Cup game playing. I'll grant them that it was an interesting game but a slip in professionalism there!

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank 757kierans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice terrace, atmosphere and staff.
Fantastic chicken momos at competitivo prices. Good start of the trip

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank carloshmj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Having tried a number of cafes/ restaurants in the thamel area, this is the one we kept coming back to during our stay, local menu options are always tasty and reasonably priced, friendly staff and nice ambiance, don't charge extra vat or service charge as many other places do

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Olives Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Black Olives Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing