We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
134
175
52
27
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
175
52
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cleaned every day garden area quiet haven carved wood walking distance from thamel breakfast was included the hustle and bustle busy streets of thamel first floor old wing internet access rooms are clean an oasis hotel is situated plenty of hot water kathmandu valley quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2010

we spend such a great time in this quite place with the lovely staff to serve us.
such a great and peacfull garden et nice decorated rooms.
thank a lot alls. Recomend it for your friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leyetimoderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Our "superior deluxe" room (701) shared a wall with a metal fabrication shop next door and the racket made the room uninhabitable during the day for anything resembling rest. We canceled the rest of our stay and expressed our disappointment. "Sorry", they said , and immediately re-booked it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepforestMtRainier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I've stayed on/off at this place for years now and i must say i think its time to do the place up a bit, its stating to look old and tired. The staff are nice (isnt everyone in Nepal?) but for the price you pay its starting to become poor value.We had one room that had no light bulbs in the lamps no shower curtain and dodgy electric sockets everywhere, a bit of upkeep is needed if they want to keep their reputation.

The garden is beautiful and to sit on the roof and watch the world go by is a great way to spend the day, the restaurant serves really good quality food and this does take time but i'd rather wait for good food than to be served poor food quickly.

One major down side which i guess isn't the hotels fault is the clientele it attracts these days.On my last 2 visits it seemed to be 90% senior citizens (i'm getting on a bit my self) but i've never come across so many grumpy people whilst traveling, i lost count of how many complaints i heard about "Talking in the corridor" at 5pm because it was disturbing their afternoon nap or they didnt like to see other guests hanging their washing out to dry! this place isnt the Hilton and travelers will do their own washing(the hotel has no problem with this).
Next time i stay in Kathmandu i will unfortunately look to stay elsewhere (sorry guys).

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellerDaveLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Planned to stay 3 nigths, left after the 1st one, liked the website and the garden, we paid 37$/nigth including all taxes for a 3 bed deluxe room + extra bed (came with wife and 3 kids). when you pay that price you expect to have decent heat in the room and a powerfull generator to ligth the place up when the power is down ( lots of power outage nowadays in Nepal...). Restaurant was very cold, no place to hide from the cold...
Breakfast were included: those were great if you are at the Everest base camp but very desapointing for Kathmandu... the restaurant and hotel is completly overpriced.

on the positiv side:

-staff very friendly (well, that is easy to get in Nepal!)
-beautifull garden
-quiet location

We moved to the Yanki lodge just accros the tibet lodge in Thamel, for Half the price we got a better room whit decent heating!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

If the rooms wouldn't have been a bit dusty (we had to sneeze all the time) I would have rated this hotel excellent. The staff is very friendly and everything is possible here, we could leave our bags here during trekking and could even keep our locker. The garden is very relaxed and it's very nice to have breakfast here. There are two free computers with internet (although not too fast), the shower is nice and hot and the location is perfect. It is 5 minutes walking distance from the heart of Thamel and therefore it is not too noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews