We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
57
93
78
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
93
78
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darbar marg homely atmosphere minute walk to thamel durbar square thali room service the heart of the city hotel is situated air conditioning breakfast spread modern amenities star hotel comfortable stay comfortable hotel four nights second home easy access
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Situated right in the Banking hub and with a lot of options for food and shopping. For the location, hotel is actually fairly priced.
Rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast was good. Since there were some renovations going on, it was bit noise in the night. I believe, otherwise it should be a quite hotel.
Can consider for the price!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank IamGoutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshering G, General Manager at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Namaste Goutham

Thank you very much for being a guest at Royal Singi Hotel and for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We are most pleased to hear you found our rooms to be spacious & clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for informing us of the noise you encountered at night. We will definitely investigate as to why renovation works continued. As much as we do have renovation and upgrade works ongoing to enhance our product & services, they should only commence as of 10am until 5pm.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Tshering Ghale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

1st of all, I would like to thank the Royal Singi Hotel for getting back to us about an earlier problem whilst staying before our Bhutan trip.
See Backpacker Bills review.

When we returned they had informed us of why the problem had incurred and how they intend to stop this from happening again.

I would have no issues staying here, the staff have been doing there utmost to make up for things above and beyond the call of duty.

This Hotel is close to all and far away to have no noise at night.

A good clean friendly place to stay, the food is amazing!

Thank you
M Waugh

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank travelphil0s0pher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshering G, General Manager at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Namaste Mr. Mark,

Thank you for staying with us at Royal Singi Hotel once again upon your return back to Kathmandu and more importantly for giving us the opportunity to speak to you and serve you.

Our commitment to quality, service and guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we are most pleased that you leave us completely satisfied. We are also glad you found our premises to be clean and the food to be amazing.

Best regards,

Tshering Ghale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The rooms are reasonably comfortable but the pillows are far to thin. The air conditioning sounds like it's going to take off! The shower is ok. The wifi is great in the rooms but poor in the shared areas. Be careful with the safe as they can be temperamental. Breakfast is ok but nothing to get excited about. It's about a 15 minute walk from thamel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshering G, General Manager at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Namaste Jo,

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback on tripadvisor.

We value our guest experience and take every feedback and notes seriously.

We are pleased to inform you that a new order of pillows have already been ordered and we will be replacing all 450 pcs in the hotel very soon. Upon checking our logs, we have found out that your in-room safe had a lock to code error and our team responded promptly to resolve the issue. You can be rest assured that such codes are kept safely only amongst certain managers and we treat our guest safety and security with the highest concern.

We are surprised to know you thought our breakfast selection was ok considering the variety of items we feature daily [including a made to order egg station and over 14 varieties of hot food items to cater to all nationalities of guests]. Should there be any specific feedback to additions or changes, we would be most interested in knowing because we care. Please do send us more feedback at info@royalsingi.com so we can incorporate your recommendations to our breakfast selection.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely

Tshering Ghale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for two nights. First the positives:
- the hotel staff was pleasant
- the room (we got the family suite) was large and roomy
Now the negatives:
- we booked through Expedia ten days before our trip. Expedia confirmed the booking and charged my credit card. I called the hotel one day before our trip to confirm and they had not received the booking. Then it took half a day, calling Expedia and calling the hotel and eventually the hotel told us that their server was down so they didn’t get the booking. This should have made me cancel and switch to another hotel but I didn’t and I regret it.
- Expedia said that the booking came with free airport transfer and the hotel had no idea about this so we got some resistance there.
- although the room was spacious, it was run down. The sofa cushions and the towels were old and dirty looking. Nothing seemed clean and fresh.
- we woke up in the morning and there was no water in the toilet. We called reception at 6 am and by 8 am, the issue had not been resolved. There was no contingency plan from the hotel. It was a disaster. Eventually my dad had to go down to the lobby and explain the mechanics of toilets to them and figure out a way to fill the water in the tank so we could go to the bathroom in the morning and start our day. This has never happened to me in a hotel before and almost ruined our trip. The hotel was completely nonchalant and unprepared. It was horrible.
- our flight was at 8 am and we asked for our free airport transfer, as per Expedia, to leave at 5:30. We reminded them twice the day before. We got to the lobby at 5:30 am and they said they would hail a cab for us and the hotel would pay for it, which is totally ridiculous. It took 20 minutes to find a cab at that time and then the hotel was about to send us off without paying the cab driver. It was such a horrible way of ending our trip.

So there you have it. Our trip to Kathmandu was wonderful but this hotel is probably the worst hotel I’ve stayed in and out experience at the hotel could have easily ruined our trip. Take my advice - do not stay here!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Passport759743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshering G, General Manager at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Namaste Ms. Behuria

It is with great regret that as the Owner and General Manager of the hotel, I read the elaborate details of your experience and am truly disappointed that you had to go through this as a guest at Royal Singi Hotel. Our utmost sincere apologies for the extent of inconveniences you faced.

The mechanical pump fault did create quite a stir across the entire hotel on Sunday morning and we have resolved this. By understanding the technical requirements, we have even gone to the extent of procuring & installing a second pump unit within a week to ensure this does not happen ever again.

We have reviewed your experience with my team and shared & identified the lack in our processes. The sofa and the cushions in your suite have also been shampooed upon your departure. Attention to detail, co-ordination and most importantly communication to ensure our guests leave happy have been the lessons learned by our team here.

We firmly believe that the team at Royal Singi Hotel and our products & services are much better than what you experienced and we are capable and committed to ensuring and making our guests comfortable, happy and satisfied no matter the problems and errors faced. Since we have your information on file, please do check your inbox after the weekend as you will be receiving an e-mail from us.

Sincerely

Tshering Ghale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The hotel has a good position, walking distance to Thamel. The rooms are spacious and clean, TV set with a lot of channels and handmade soap. Breakfast can be served outside on the balcony. Food is good and varied.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshering G, General Manager at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Namaste Eric,

Thank you for being a guest at Royal Singi Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are most pleased to know you found our location to be of convenience and our rooms to be spacious and clean. We are also glad to know you found our food selection to be varied and good in quality. It is most appreciative to know you liked the hand-made soap amenity in the rooms. We will soon be partnering with a local initiative collaboration project to introduce local hand-made products as our toilet amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Tshering Ghale
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews