We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
16
87
73
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
87
73
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dusty road rooms overlooking a bit tired short stay an oasis thamel area tourist district three nights plenty of hot water valuables channels shangri kettle
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We spent two nights here en route to a safari venue and a return visit for one night awaiting return flight to Delhi/UK. Although not the smartest hotel on our tour it was homely and small. The staff were helpful and the food was rather good, especially breakfast which was mostly cooked to order. There was a good selection at dinner with options of English dishes. There was a kettle in our room but we were unable to obtain any coffee, only t-bags were offered. The grounds were especially nice, very well kept and much like an oasis of quiet in the middle of a busy, noisy city. The room was adequate and as I have stated not the smartest but clean, quiet and comfortable. If I were to return to Kathmandu I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank emilymary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Initial impression of the hotel entrance and staff in traditional dress was impressive and the grounds are lovely. The room allocated to us was a health hazard with stained bed linen, thick dust and dirt on the carpet & skirting boards, paint and rotting woodwork on the windows, dirty/broken furniture and non-working fridge. It was not fit for use. The second room was cleaner and habitable but the rooms need investment. Breakfast and dinner were good, and the staff were polite. WiFi was free in reception, but chargeable in bedrooms. It is close to a local market and ideal for shopping. I would not stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Irishmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Initially the entrance area was good and the gardens were good, but the rooms seemed faded. Breakfast and dinner were good, and the staff were all excellent.

The rooms seemed a bit small and in need of an upgrade, but we found it all grew on us. We stayed here twice, with rooms overlooking the garden on one occasion and the pool on the other, and they were quiet with no noise heard from other rooms or from the roads.

The bathroom was on the small side, but with plenty of hot water. WiFi was free in reception, but chargeable in bedrooms. TV did not have any U.K. news channel, but this was true of all hotels we used in Nepal.

We would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John_Bristol_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We stayed at the Malla Hotel as we were transitting through Kathmandu to and from a trip to Bhutan. The hotel was satisfactory for a one night stop off enroute.

The hotel is located in a good location on the edge of the Thamel area, close to restaurants and shops. Durbar Square is a 30 minute walk away, although they were resurfacing some of the streets and those streets were not easy to walk down due to liquid tar (Oct 17).

The reception, bar, lounge and dining room were of a good standard. There was also another area where we ate breakfast and dinner (like a conference room) which was not nearly as nice as the dining room where we had breakfast on our return trip to Kathmandu. The gardens were nice and had a bird cage with some lovely coloured birds. The pool area was clean and tidy, although we didn't use the pool.

The rooms themselves were ok without being anything special, the outbound stay the room was better than the room we had on the way back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KymH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Rooms are pathetic, Services of hotel is too bad. Food menu is not as per the standers. Food quality and taste is pathetic. Staying in "Malla hotel" is waste of money and time. Ambiance is so bad. Not suggestible to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devendra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews