We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
415
520
287
89
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
520
287
89
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney restaurant casino royale durbar marg tennis courts swimming pool business center club floor breakfast buffet the heart of the city old palace business trip royal palace heritage hotel garden view an oasis new wing rooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

The Yak and Yeti rests on its laurels as a 5-star hotel. In reality it's extremely run-down with out of date bathrooms, rooms and most facilities. Staff are nice, but when this is priced as one of the most expensive properties in Kathmandu something's not right. Buffets are extremely marginal, AC is barely functional. Bathrooms feel like they're decades old. If you want real luxury, go to the Hyatt for basically the same price. Or stay at one of the many hotels offering basically the same amenities for a fraction of the price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaScheiblauer, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing you feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity and to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and the disappointment you had to encounter during your stay. Your comments and feedback are truly a concern to us. It has always been our commitment to meet or where possible exceed guests' expectations and regrettably we have failed to do so in your visit.
We really apologize for the bathroom experience but I would like to inform you that we are renovating all the Deluxe rooms in a days to come. I would like to assure you that all efforts will be made in order to meet your expectations.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Nepal.

Best Regards,
Monika Scheiblauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

The Yak and Yeti is a large hotel in Central Kathmandu just a 15 minutes stroll from the tourist area of Thamel. Very grand when arriving. Beautiful grounds. Friendly and efficient staff. Great buffet breakfast or dinner.

Yet it seems to lack character. Perfect for business or conference travellers but for a tourist wanting a unique or different experience, this is not the place. It could be a business hotel in any city of the world.

Nothing wrong with the hotel at all but tourists (with reference to the trekking touist) could find other hotels at lower prices with more of a feeling of being in Kathmandu.

Am probably being harsh as there is nothing whatsoever wrong with the hotel, the staff or service. All excellent. But once inside, you could be anywhere.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaScheiblauer, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We are glad that you found our hotel grand and our associated to be friendly and efficient. Your feedback regarding being a unique hotel is well noted and we truly appreciate for your valuable feedback. We are trying our best to be more historical hotel than being a business hotel.
Again, thank you for choosing our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward for your return visit in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monika Scheiblauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

This is the only place to stay in Kathmandu. I’ve been lucky enough to stay here 4 times now. The staff are fantastic, the tranquility of the gardens is wonderful, I love the ducks in the pond that get out to bed safely in their little duck houses every night. I love the historic grand building and the quiet but friendly and efficient service. A peaceful oasis in all the crazy chaos and dust of Kathmandu. Luxury linen and the most comfortable beds make your stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.
I love this hotel. I highly recommend you stay next time you’re in Kathmandu!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lovetosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaScheiblauer, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We are very happy to welcome you back to our hotel and glad to know that overall you had a nice experience with us. It is encouraging for all of us to read such wonderful compliments and I shall share your feedback with the team at the hotel.
Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to you spending more time with us in the near future.

Best Regards,
Monika Scheiblauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This hotel has almost everything like good location, nice staff, huge property etc but still in my opinion it is slightly overrated and overpriced. Like if you open your room window and there are piegons sitting (it is ok) but if its their home (including toil**) then perhaps it is not so nice :) I was told that the iron station will be provided on request n need basis (that too to me doesn't rate a property 5 star). I couldn't do bench press (bench was not available) at the gym that was a bit disappointment. Overall its a nice and warm place with good food and service - there is a casino as well round the corner and tennis court inside hotel. Don't miss to see a big foot (that locals describe as foot of a Yeti) in the outside area (near pool).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank naveedhaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaScheiblauer, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced in your room and the Gym. We have tried so much to keep the pigeons away from the windows but as it is the part of a nature we cannot go against it. Your comment regarding having a bench in the Gym is well noted and we shall work on it very soon. Also thank you for mentioning the Yeti foot print on the way to garden.
It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and again thank you for your four star rating to our hotel. We look forward for your return visit and ensure your stay a memorable one.

Best Regards,
Monika Scheiblauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Visited Kathmandu on business tour & stayed in this hotel. The rooms have centralized AC with temperature control switch. Has a flat TV, minibar and all such amenities in the room. Garden facing rooms have excellent view. In all excellent experience.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vasudev68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaScheiblauer, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Mr. Vasudev,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers in Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that overall you had a nice experience during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Monika Scheiblauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews