We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town for breakfast or brunch.”
Review of Mike's Breakfast

Mike's Breakfast
Ranked #401 of 732 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Serving American and Mexican Dish since 25 years.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in town for breakfast or brunch.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

As a resident of Kathmandu, Mike's Breakfast is a regular stop. The food is great and the atmosphere could not be friendlier. Good value and you walk away satisfied. It is also a great place to run into friends from far and near.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank OregonianinPatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My breakfast”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The restaurant it,s great and the food it,s so delicious, it,s clean and the atention it,s great. I like this place.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rocí G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went there by chance and I am thankful to my driver I went! Such friendly staff, never seen before. They will make you feel so much at home, they feel bad if you leave food on your plate, wondering if they couldn't make what you wanted! I had to convince them that the food is good, but I don't have such a huge appetite, they packed it for me! Food was mind blowing! Must visit while in Kathmandu.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Richa_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for long, lazy breakfasts (on a nice day)...”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This place is perfect for taking a long, leisurely breakfast or brunch. The food is consistently good, and the surroundings re very relaxing -- all outdoors or semi-outdoors, lots of greenery, not too closely spaced tables, music (generally classical) in the background... Bottomless coffee (hard to find these days). Good place to go with friends, but I also like to go alone, and spend some time reading the newspapers, writing in my journal, etc.

The only downsides -- expensive, and a bit out of the way (but definitely walkable from Thamel, if you can manage a 15-20 stroll (most of it along the brick wall of the palace).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nicey nicey place to have breakfast!!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Almost everyone who has been to Pokhara would agree that this place is awesome (even though apparently in compare to other cafes only)! Its best points: Tables RIGHT on the lakeshore (it is like you easily could try to see your reflection in waters), romantic if not the best view on lake, perfect (i swear) coffee and awesome western breakfasts. It was started by a foreigner as i heard, and current Nepali guys do their best out of skin to keep the same standards, it feels...thumbs up for Nepali folks, who tries to do something different with food and service sometimes!!!...

Helpful?
Thank yangzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Breakfast also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Mike's Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing