We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Multijon
Jerusalem, Israel

Great home base for a Bhutan visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024
This hotel is excellent for visiting Thimpu and Bhutan in general. It has nice and spacious rooms, great showers, and a location that can't be beaten: right on the clock square in the center of town. Tshering, the proprietor, has been very helpful and knowledgeable and even allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel when we went for a one-night field visit. I would definitely come back to this hotel the next time I'm in Bhutan.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$227
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$227
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$227
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$54
  • Trip.com
    AU$99
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
0.1 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$96
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Expedia.com
    AU$96
0.1 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
AU$381
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$349
0.4 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$205
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
  • Trip.com
    AU$193
0.6 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$77
  • Agoda.com
    AU$68
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$223
0.3 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$276
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Prestigia.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$273
1.4 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$131
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
  • Priceline
    AU$131
0.4 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside picture
AU$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$92
1.2 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
AU$922
Fully refundable
  • LeMeridien.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$928
  • Hotels.com
    AU$919
0.1 km from Hotel Thimphu Towers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
460
115
23
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
460
115
23
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower the main square perfect location walking distance the heart of the city prime location home away from home the hotel staff breakfast and dinner bhutan hospitality ms country clocktower capital comfort mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Thimphu Towers is the best place to stay in Thimphu - it is extremely centrally located right on the main square in town. Our room had a lovely clocktower view. What really makes the hotel special is the attentive care of the staff, led by the owner Tshering. I hope to return and stay again one day!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlexH762
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Thimphu Towers has the most attentive staff, incredible location and good food! The owner Tshering is incredibly welcoming and warm and made us all feel at home. It has all the basic amenities you can need too. Highly recommend for a stay in Thimphu.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Thimphu Towers was a wonderful home base while we spent a few of nights exploring the city. It's centrally located, with a fantastic view of the square and of the Great Buddha Dordenma statue, and it's walking distance to the majority of Thimphu's bars, restaurants and entertainment. The bed was great, the room was spacious, everything clean and very comfortable. The host, Tshering, often drops by the reception area, and is deeply friendly and fun to chat with. Highly recommend if you're looking for your place in Thimphu!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

the softest of beds and plushest of pillows, room with a clock tower view is as beautiful as it can get. Breakfast is basic.
Spacious rooms, with heater and basic furniture. One of the few hotels that has mats under the shower so that you dont slip!

Room tip: at the city center, close to the pubs, stadium, market and shopping area in Thimpu. Try the Zumabala 2 for lunch/dinner.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VinP393
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024

The best part of this hotel, which sits right on a main square in the center of town is the wonderful, gracious host and owner, Tshering. She greets every guest as though they are family. With her great command of English, and open heart, she makes everyone feel welcome. The views are great too overlooking the square, and I could see the huge Buddha up on the hill at night from my room. There is a homey feel to the hotel, and I will definitely return next time I'm in Thimphu! Wishing her luck in her bid to rid Bhutan of all plastics..

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews