We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roslyn G
Midway, Utah

Horrible area, noisy!!!!!

Review of Ariya Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2018
The hotel itself is quite nice inside though noise travels up atrium. Location is horrible; only nasty area we saw in Bhutan. There are packs of dogs roaming around and they bark all night. No one could get any sleep. The hotel restaurant wasn't very good either.
Date of stay: October 2018
Room Tip: No room is quiet
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$313
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$311
  • Vio.com
    AU$302
  • Official Hotel
3.3 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$229
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
  • Vio.com
    AU$225
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$96
  • Vio.com
    AU$80
  • Priceline
    AU$96
3.1 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lunch with Thai guests
AU$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
2.2 km from Ariya Hotel
AU$206
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$158
  • Vio.com
    AU$148
  • Trip.com
3.6 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$131
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
  • Agoda.com
    AU$28
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$102
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
3.7 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$94
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$94
  • Expedia.com
    AU$51
  • Vio.com
    AU$94
4.0 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$58
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$58
4.4 km from Ariya Hotel
AU$946
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$945
  • Vio.com
    AU$921
  • Priceline
    AU$945
3.7 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
86
47
11
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
47
11
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Hotel is good, room is spacious.
Restaurant service is very poor. For vegetarian people that's a lot of problem because there is no roti no vegg curry and no buttermilk no curd .
And also the quantity of the available food is too small.
The desert was vanilla ice cream with browny but when I had asked for the same at 9.00 p.m (the restaurant timing was 7.30 p.m to 9.30 p.m ) i was informed by one of the restaurant guy that it is empty but when I complain about the same at reception then they offer me the ice cream . It is bad for such a good hotel.
So 3 star for the same.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zenishv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear zenish

Thank you for your review and your observation has been shared with the concern departments and your problems will be definitely be looked into.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

The food and service is amazing, we are going to book again with this amazing hotel.
The sales managers are very supportive during my visit, the hotel is having 2 Banquets ideal for conferences and meetings, the room size is really big.

Room tip: All rooms are good, very big
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Jayis

Thank you for your input and such words of encouragement goes a long way in motivating the team.

We hope you do visit us again and stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights during a tour of Bhutan. The rooms are very large, ours even had a dining table. The beds were comfortable, but while not the hotels fault, you do need earplugs because of the dogs that bark throughout the night. Luckily, we were pre-warned and made sure that we had earplugs with us. Also, late night revelers on weekends adds to the noise at night. Our room overlooked a kiddie park that also must have been used by young adults in the evening.

Our stay included breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was good, but dinner was pretty repetitive. Each night we were faced with the same protein choice - wok chicken. It would have been nice to have the menu vary a bit.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newmexone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Ellen
Thank you for staying in Ariya and we have noted your comments and will ensure that the menu henceforth is not repeated.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Big rooms, enough space, get everything what you want in the room, and the bathroom to. Very wide windows, so if you get a room in the "cool" side, you can watch Thimpu at night, that was very memorable. I sit on my sofa and see the lights of Thimpu.

So I can tell a lots of positive things about the hotel, but there are some negative, at the hall, and the corridor is very noisy, and the "cool" side view of the hotel is close to a wooden factory, so if you want to sleep a lot at the morning, you will be awake about the wooden manufactury... Sorry, that is a truth. Breakfast and lunch is okay, got local foods, and beer, etc

Room tip: Ask a city view room!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank traveliguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear traveliguana

Thank you for your review and in regard to the wooden factory it must be the construction going on nearby which is just temporary and now is nearing completion.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

On our 5 days Bhutan farm trip I stayed here with my 2 other friends. It was nice hotel located middle of city. They offer great breakfast, fitness, finest amities on the room. They have very well trained staff include on front office. Most of staff even speak Nepali felt like home country. Highly recommended this hotel for traveler to Thimpu.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kchhatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Kchhatra

Thank you for your review and your kind words goes a long way in encouraging the staffs to perform better.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews