We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ellen L
Thornton, Colorado

Great Rooms, But Bring Earplugs

Review of Ariya Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2018
We stayed here for 3 nights during a tour of Bhutan. The rooms are very large, ours even had a dining table. The beds were comfortable, but while not the hotels fault, you do need earplugs because of the dogs that bark throughout the night. Luckily, we were pre-warned and made sure that we had earplugs with us. Also, late night revelers on weekends adds to the noise at night. Our room overlooked a kiddie park that also must have been used by young adults in the evening.

Our stay included breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was good, but dinner was pretty repetitive. Each night we were faced with the same protein choice - wok chicken. It would have been nice to have the menu vary a bit.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Dear Ellen
Thank you for staying in Ariya and we have noted your comments and will ensure that the menu henceforth is not repeated.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$300
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$287
  • Agoda.com
    AU$319
  • Vio.com
    AU$298
3.3 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$218
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$223
  • Agoda.com
    AU$224
  • Vio.com
    AU$220
3.0 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
  • Vio.com
    AU$72
  • Priceline
    AU$87
3.1 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$189
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Trip.com
    AU$177
  • Priceline
    AU$154
3.6 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$107
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    AU$107
  • Vio.com
    AU$70
  • Priceline
    AU$75
3.4 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
2.2 km from Ariya Hotel
AU$92
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
4.0 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$99
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$109
  • Trip.com
    AU$142
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
3.7 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$902
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$901
  • Expedia.com
    AU$902
  • Hotels.com
    AU$902
3.1 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    AU$912
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.7 km from Ariya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
86
47
11
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
47
11
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Big rooms, enough space, get everything what you want in the room, and the bathroom to. Very wide windows, so if you get a room in the "cool" side, you can watch Thimpu at night, that was very memorable. I sit on my sofa and see the lights of Thimpu.

So I can tell a lots of positive things about the hotel, but there are some negative, at the hall, and the corridor is very noisy, and the "cool" side view of the hotel is close to a wooden factory, so if you want to sleep a lot at the morning, you will be awake about the wooden manufactury... Sorry, that is a truth. Breakfast and lunch is okay, got local foods, and beer, etc

Room tip: Ask a city view room!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank traveliguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear traveliguana

Thank you for your review and in regard to the wooden factory it must be the construction going on nearby which is just temporary and now is nearing completion.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

On our 5 days Bhutan farm trip I stayed here with my 2 other friends. It was nice hotel located middle of city. They offer great breakfast, fitness, finest amities on the room. They have very well trained staff include on front office. Most of staff even speak Nepali felt like home country. Highly recommended this hotel for traveler to Thimpu.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kchhatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Kchhatra

Thank you for your review and your kind words goes a long way in encouraging the staffs to perform better.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Three of us stayed in this hotel for two night. The hotel is located very well, The rooms are very clean and comfort. Breakfast is an excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful, Two apple desktop in lobby for guest use. Friendly Check in and Friendly Check out. The only thing the loundry service is bit over price,

Room tip: Our Room was 406 and 407
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear himst53

Thank you for your review and appreciate you taking the time to write your views. Such write up goes a long way in motivating the staffs to perform better.

We hope you do visit us again.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We were there to celebrate our Daughter birthdays. Hotel staff made it unforgettable. Amazing room with separate dining , drawing . Food was excellent. Infact we had a Dinner buffet , but they were kind enough to provide few dishes without chilly. Birthday cake was most delicious . Thanks Kezang , Sangita , Ambika , sangay , mamla , Gurung and Bhakti Maya for making it special. Hand made card is beautiful.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PuneetSinghBhutani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear PuneetSinghBhutani,

We appreciate your comment and have conveyed to all the mentioned staffs which will definitely motivate them further.

We hope you do visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

A very good hotel. Excellent service. The rooms are very clean, well maintained.
The hotel is surrounded by local shops and malls. Being almost in the center of the city, views are not exceptional, but not bad at the same time.
The food is very good here.. Indian as well as Bhutanese.
Service is prompt and staff is courteous.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJB3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kjtenzin, Guest Relations Manager at Ariya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear NJB3504

Thank you for your review and the same has been communicated to the staffs which will surely motivate them further.

We hope you visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews