We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Quest17251186159

centrally located, friendly staff

Review of Gakyil
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2024
the rooms were comfortable. Food was good. house keeping was good. the hotel was centrally located near clock tower. Most tasty Indian Food in Thimpu Market Centre. Located at the heart near druk hotel. They have Indian chef, and the staff, especially Leki Wangmo was very hospitable in her approach and took care of our order very well.
Overall must visit to have Indian food here.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$923
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
AU$61
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
23.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$939
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$190
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
    1.0 km from Gakyil
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Hotel
    • eDreams
    6.1 km from Gakyil
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    D'Light Room
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Prestigia.com
    1.1 km from Gakyil
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$97
    • Booking.com
    1.0 km from Gakyil
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$223
    • Trip.com
    0.7 km from Gakyil
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Thimphu
    Reviews (204)
    Filter reviews
    204 results
    Traveller rating
    97
    79
    23
    3
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    97
    79
    23
    3
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews clock tower hotel is located the hotel staff views of the mountains top floor thimpu city business trip excellent location heart heater
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 204 reviews
    Reviewed 7 May 2024

    Hello
    We have a memorable and quality time in Gakyil Hotel Thimphu. Our room view was excellent. We could able to see the Clock tower and mountain view from our bed. The most important thing we loved is Indian cuisine especially fried rice and chicken tikka...they do have Indian cook who served us really mouthwatering food. The staff was very humble throughout the stay. Served us with a good gesture. Rooms are very nice with heater and hot water...

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Adventure23165889584
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 January 2024

    The location is fantastic for this hotel as it's right in city center. It's easy to walk from the hotel to anywhere in the core city. I took two meals at the restaurant and both were solid buffets. The bar has a good selection of local beers. Staff was very friendly and helpful in every instance. Wifi was a bit in and out, but usually worked well enough to accomplish some tasks.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank bretts11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 December 2023

    The location of the hotel is perfect, near clock tower. You can see the city view from the window and the market is just few walks away. Really appreciate the restaurant food and the staff who provided awesome service and food. Special thanks to Ms Beema & Wangyal and Gakyil team!!

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Neel P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 December 2023 via mobile

    Most tasty Indian Food in Thimpu Market Centre. Located at the heart near druk hotel. They have Indian chef, and the staff, especially Leki Wangmo was very hospitable in her approach and took care of our order very well.
    Overall must visit to have Indian food here.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Nilesh G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 October 2023

    What a great experience the best hotel I think everyone was so generous and helpful really a great hotel...the rooms were so clean spacious and service was excellent 👌 mainly the position of the hotel what a great view each of hotel staff and everyone was great , each and every foods were delicious and main thanks for our memorable stay goes to tanmay biswa(chef) urmela gurung and leela@housekeeping with entire team very helpful and polite....i recommend everyone to book the hotel blindly...thanx to gaykil❤️

    Room tip: Nothing u guys r the best
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Passport04375611061
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews