We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
AU$49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
subhash T
Excellent Hotel @Thimphu -Clock Tower
Review of Gakyil
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2023

Wonderful Experience :-
I stayed at Gakyil hotel 3rd time during my business trip to Bhutan in July-2023 and I truly loved the hotel.
Great location overall for sightseeing, recreation, dining
and getting around.
The hotel staff members ( mainly Yuden@Reception, Urmela Gurung@FNB,Bema Dhal @Cafe, Urmila Gurung @ Housekeeping and entire team ) were very helpful, friendly, especially courteous.
The room was spacious , extremely comfortable and the restaurant food was delicious.
Overall it was splendid experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Bhutan - ' The Kingdom of the Thunder Dragon'.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Gakyil hotel is a excellent property located in heart of Thimphu city. Its on city main road and...
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$951
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • LeMeridien.com
    AU$954
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
Expedia.com
AU$132
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$101
  • Trip.com
    AU$135
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$249
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$249
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$150
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
AU$540
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • MakeMyTrip
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$102
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$102
3.2 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$95
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$102
  • Priceline
    AU$107
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$76
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
96
78
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
78
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower hotel is located the hotel staff views of the mountains top floor thimpu city business trip excellent location heart heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2023

Staff behavior is excellent. Both morning breakfast staff / attendent and Dinner time staff are excellent.
Staff at reception are also very sincere and well mannered. Good work keep it up Ms .Urmela Gurung ,Mr Prosenjit.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rajdeep c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2023

I stayed at this hotel in August 2023.
The hotel is located in the middle of Thimphu town, very good location to explore Thimphu town. Breakfast and dinner are very good with unique Bhutanese food. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
The staff was courteous, friendly, and made a good impression.
Especially, Eden, Yuden, Bema and Prakiti, they are very helpful.
They made our trip wonderful. Thank you very much.
I will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Bhutan.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location, foods, clean room and friendly staff.
We will share your message to Eden, Bema and Prakiti for meeting the guest satisfaction.
We are pleased to have been a part of creating a lasting memory for you. We appreciate and look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2023

Great hospitality and ambience from the support staff. Special mention of Chef Prosenjit Ghosh and support staff Urmila Gurung who looked after very well. A feel good factor staying at Gaykil with such comfort.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Chandraditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your wonderful stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, ambience and specially from Prosenjit and Urmila. We will share your massage to the team.

We hope to see you back in Gakyil soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023

I was there for a conference in July 2023. The stay was wonderful, the reception staff was super helpful and knowledgeable about the area, the room was very clean and nice (the bedding decorative pieces were really impressive and a nice touch), the location is right in the center of the city, so very close to everything. The breakfast, and just the food in general, was really really nice. Next time I'll stay there again, for sure! Special thanks to Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji, you made my stay there especially memorable.

Room tip: Ask them for a Cappuccino, trust me
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haflidia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous review and giving us a chance to be of service to you.

Our entire team is happy to learn that they have lived up to your expectations especially Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji who had made your stay memorable.

We will be glad to have you back soon at Gakyil. Thank you once more.

Best Regards,
Hotel Gakyil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Location of hotel is good.Staff behaviour is very good. They follow the instructions very well. Room service is very good. Among the staffs Chef "Prosenjit " has shown very good hospitality. Food quality very good.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rajdeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Dear Rajdeep,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing us your experience.
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We shall continue to provide our best hospitality.
Thank you for choosing us. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews