We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$59
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
rajdeep c

Excellent staff behavior.

Review of Gakyil
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2023
Staff behavior is excellent. Both morning breakfast staff / attendent and Dinner time staff are excellent.
Staff at reception are also very sincere and well mannered. Good work keep it up Ms .Urmela Gurung ,Mr Prosenjit.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$268
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
1.2 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$245
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$245
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$98
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Tripadvisor
AU$73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
23.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
AU$925
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$924
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$942
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$204
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower hotel is located the hotel staff views of the mountains top floor thimpu city business trip excellent location heart heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2023

I stayed at this hotel in August 2023.
The hotel is located in the middle of Thimphu town, very good location to explore Thimphu town. Breakfast and dinner are very good with unique Bhutanese food. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
The staff was courteous, friendly, and made a good impression.
Especially, Eden, Yuden, Bema and Prakiti, they are very helpful.
They made our trip wonderful. Thank you very much.
I will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Bhutan.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location, foods, clean room and friendly staff.
We will share your message to Eden, Bema and Prakiti for meeting the guest satisfaction.
We are pleased to have been a part of creating a lasting memory for you. We appreciate and look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2023

Great hospitality and ambience from the support staff. Special mention of Chef Prosenjit Ghosh and support staff Urmila Gurung who looked after very well. A feel good factor staying at Gaykil with such comfort.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Chandraditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your wonderful stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, ambience and specially from Prosenjit and Urmila. We will share your massage to the team.

We hope to see you back in Gakyil soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023

I was there for a conference in July 2023. The stay was wonderful, the reception staff was super helpful and knowledgeable about the area, the room was very clean and nice (the bedding decorative pieces were really impressive and a nice touch), the location is right in the center of the city, so very close to everything. The breakfast, and just the food in general, was really really nice. Next time I'll stay there again, for sure! Special thanks to Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji, you made my stay there especially memorable.

Room tip: Ask them for a Cappuccino, trust me
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haflidia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous review and giving us a chance to be of service to you.

Our entire team is happy to learn that they have lived up to your expectations especially Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji who had made your stay memorable.

We will be glad to have you back soon at Gakyil. Thank you once more.

Best Regards,
Hotel Gakyil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Location of hotel is good.Staff behaviour is very good. They follow the instructions very well. Room service is very good. Among the staffs Chef "Prosenjit " has shown very good hospitality. Food quality very good.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rajdeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Dear Rajdeep,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing us your experience.
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We shall continue to provide our best hospitality.
Thank you for choosing us. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Stayed in this hotel this week during my business trip. Hotel is good specifically chef Prasenjit is very good. Food is delicious and tasty.. I would love to stay in Gakyil in my next visit of Thimphu

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Coastal54102573305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews